Pork Chops with Cauliflower Mac N Cheese

Lunch didn’t hold me until dinner, so around 3:30 I snacked on these:

P7290030

I am slowly getting used to these unsalted, not roasted almonds – although I do prefer the salty ones! :D

Hannah was my soux chef, fixing the dry rub while I got the cheese sauce going for the cauliflower.  No real recipe here, just a little of this, little of that.

P7290034

this has Italian seasoning, celery salt, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, dry mustard – and a touch of brown sugar

I cooked the cauliflower in the microwave whole – just pressed my fresh veggie button – I chopped it up after it was cooked.

P7290032

I hate raw cauliflower – well, unless I dip it in cheesy artichoke dip!  The cheese sauce is just 2 tablespoons butter, 2 tablespoons flour, 2 cups skim milk and 8 ounces of cheddar cheese.  I mixed the chopped cauliflower in the sauce, then topped with whole wheat bread crumbs and baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes until the cheese is all bubbly:

P7290043

It tastes like mac n cheese to me – but low carb!

P7290051

It made a whole casserole, so if you make it 6 servings, each serving is 228 calories, 16 fat, 7.3 carbs, 12 protein and .5 fiber. 

I did not bring my trusty meat thermometer outside and when I brought the chops in, they were still a bit raw in the middle!  Notice I barely put any seasonings on Tony’s chops – you can tell the difference between mine and his!  You can tell on the left one where the brown sugar caramelized and made a crunchy crust!

So I remedied the undercooked pork by cutting it in half and putting the center part on the grill:

P7290045

Then you get grill marks like this!

P7290048

I ate 3 ounces of pork and one serving of the mac n cheese – dinner comes in at 425 calories, 27 fat and 7 carbs.

Stats for the Day:

  • 1187 calories
  • 55 fat
  • 67 carbs
  • 22 fiber
  • 93 protein
  • 45 minute walk at lunch

I have a tip!  I don’t know about you, but reading instruction manuals does nothing for me – I am a “show and tell” kind of person.  You show me how to do it and I can.  I’ve had my camera since Christmas and still don’t know half the things it can do!  Well, that, and I don’t know much about lighting and exposure and shutter speed!

My father was an excellent photographer, and when he tried to show me I had no interest!  I regret that!  Anywho, I went to youtube.com and watched a tutorial on my camera, and while I don’t know exactly what they were talking about, I’ve found things I never even knew were on the camera! 

Hopefully tomorrow is my Friday, if all goes well Hannah and I will have our annual “Back to School” day together – we started it when she went to kindergarten.  What we do changes from year to year, but we spend a full day together – last year we went downtown to see the Bean in Chicago.  This year is bowling and a spa afternoon!  Fingers crossed I’ll be able to take Friday off! 

See you tomorrow! :D

12 thoughts on “Pork Chops with Cauliflower Mac N Cheese

  1. your cauliflower reminded me – i need to try and make your cauliflower pizza crust :)

  2. Yum! I’ll have to try that!

  3. I totally wouldn’t have used just cauliflower in “mac” and cheese… This is totally been added to my list!

    BTW, I emailed you about your idea of meeting up, I’m totally up for it!

  4. I have leftover Cauliflower, so I might make your cheesy dish with it!

  5. That cauliflower dish looks great! Love your extra sear marks on the pork…you were just looking for an excuse to be artistic, right? ;)

  6. Good luck getting tomorrow (today) off. Also, thanks for the tip. I can’t believe I haven’t thought about that.

  7. Wow! I cannot believe that is low-carb – you do know how to infuse taste! Gorgeous.

  8. Love the new photo, Beth!

  9. I’m so not a raw cauliflower gal either. Your faux mac & cheese sounds delicious, because really, what goes better with cauliflower than cheese? :D

  10. Great tip for the camera! I got mine Christmas too and just discovered a new setting with like 30 different settings on my trip. I was dreading pulling out my manual trying to decipher, but would have never thought of watching a how-to! I’ll have to see if my camera has one too!

  11. Looks fantastic! Have to try this, we love cauliflower!

Leave a Reply

