Best Buffalo Chicken Chili!

Tony says that I have to stop patting myself on the back on this one, but EVERYONE said that my chili was the best chili they ever ate!

But first I had another repeat breakfast – my sourdough/apple/cheese melt with Chobani and granola.  Steve, you have to try the cheese/apple combo – you won’t look back!

I suggested a chli party at my office since its Superbowl weekend.  Everyone was on the bandwagon!   One co-worker brought in corn muffins with jalapeno cumin butter! It was so good!  Another person brought in bread, blue cheese and cheddar cheese, and someone else brought in sour cream.

Of course, Tabasco was on the table!

I decided to make three batches of chili and it was almost all gone!  I brought home about 2 cups!  Two batches filled the crockpot up to the top:

Best Buffalo Chicken Chili by Biz  (printer friendly version here)

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 large carrots
  • 3 stalks celery
  • 1 large red pepper
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • 5 tablespoons of chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 1/2 cup Frank’s Hot Sauce
  • 2 (15 oz) cans tomato sauce
  • 1 (15 oz) diced tomatoes
  • 1 (15 oz) black beans, drained
  • 1 (15 oz) chili beans in sauce (do not drain)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Put chicken breasts in food processor to grind up – if you can find ground chicken breast, you can use that too.  Heat oil and add ground chicken and cook about 10 minutes on medium heat until no longer pink.  Rinse out processor and add carrots, celery, garlic and red pepper and puree.  Add to chicken mixture and cook about 5 minutes until veggies start to soften.

Next add the rest of the ingredients, put stove on simmer and cook for 1 hour.

Nutrition Per Cup: 239 calories, 3.4 fat, 29 carbs, 7.5 fiber and 23.5 protein.

Good points:  low in saturated fat, high in fiber,  niacin, potassium, vitamin A, vitamin B6 and vitamin C!

love the flavor of the sauce in this can of beans!

if you want a spicier chili, just add more Frank's - 1/2 cup made a medium spiced chili, which is good for a big crowd

here is how it looks after simmering for 30 minutes

of course I kicked mine up with fresh sliced jalapenos!

maybe I had a second bowl??!!

This recipe is a keeper! :D

I put Tony in charge of dinner last night – and even though it was snowing, that didn’t stop him from grilling!  When I looked at the meat he bought, I saw it was a boston roast, and when I googled that, all the recipes called for cooking low and slow.  I was a bit skeptical about doing it on the grill, but Tony is the grill-master – it was so tender!  He felt it was a little overdone, but I thought it was perfect!

With baked potatoes and crunchy bread on the side – perfect date night in! :D  Thanks Tony!

When Tony was at the store, he bought me four of this tiny fruit, but we can’t find any information about it!  On the label it says “Guataba de Mexico.”   Does anyone know what fruit this is?

Not sure if you can eat the seeds?

Plans for the Day:

  • Japanese grocery store
  • Seigelman’s Deli for lunch
  • menu/meal planning
  • wash sheets
  • vacuum living room
  • mop kitchen floor

Don’t forget, you can vote every day for my three recipes on the right side of my blog – thanks to everyone who has voted already! :D

Happy Saturday! :D

65 thoughts on “Best Buffalo Chicken Chili!

  1. that chili looks downright amazing!!! have a great weekend biz!

    • The fruit is a Guayaba. It is a Y, not a T. Yes, you can eat the entire thing, seeds and all. I grew up in South America and we had a tree in our front yard that my brother and I would climb and gorge ourselves on the fruit. They are tastiest when they are a light green/yellow, not bright yellow. :)

  2. That chili looks so good, right up my alley!

    Is that a guava? If so, then you can eat the seeds.

  3. Yum, that looks delicious!

    There’s a website on the little sticker, but I can’t make it out. I think Spiceaholic might be right — google “green apple guava” and it looks very similar to yours!

  4. That chili sounds so perfect for this cold weather!! Yummy!!

    I love how Tony brings you fun little foodies surprises. Andrew does that too and it always makes me wanna give him a big smackaroo b/c I think “You really do GET me!!” :)

  5. Yum, another Crocker recipe to try that may not fail me! Sounds great!

  6. The chili looks so delicious. Great idea – perfect for a winter day.

  7. Love the chili!! And great job on the Grill Tony!

  8. Wow – that chili really does look amazing! And cheese and apples? I love both, so I’m game. :-)

  9. Oooo….I’m loving the Buffalo Chicken Chili! Must try this out on my family soon! :)

  10. I think a chili party is a great idea for a work pot-luck. That cumin butter sounds to die for.

    Can’t wait to try this recipe. Thanks Biz!

  11. I’m really curious as to how this apple & cheese melted goodness tastes. I’ve only had the two together in a salad. I’m not a big fan of apples, you think pears might do?

  12. I have no reason to question any food advice you give, so I will have to make a point to try the apple and cheese. I still cannot imagine it being good, but I am moving forward in faith. :-)

  13. Hi Biz!
    There’s a website where you can look up produce based on its PLU number:

    http://supermarketpage.com/prucodes.php

    According to this site, it’s a guava.

    That chili looks *good*!!!

    And thanks for the birthday greeting! Sure do appreciate it!

  14. Thank you for this recipe! My husband says thank you, too!

  15. I love chili! I’ve made it with leaving out the ground beef but honestly, never thought to add ground chicken instead. I’m going to make a big pot this week and have it for lunch all week. Although chili is perfect chilly weather food, I can eat it all year ’round.

    Thanks for sharing your recipe.

  16. Super Bowl party at Biz’s house…on my way!!!!!

  17. Yay for all the compliments – your chili does sound amazing!

  18. Your buffalo chicken chili sounds outstanding, can’t wait to try this – my hubby will be sure to love it!

  19. I made your buffalo chili tonight and it was good!! I didn’t buy enough chicken, so I just halved the recipe. we both ate two bowls. thank you for the recipe!

  20. [...] cheezy goodness!  I know Sophia will appreciate this grilled sandwich pic!    I had 1 cup of my Buffalo Chicken Chili, 1/2 ounce cheddar cheese and 1 tsp. smart balance sour [...]

  21. [...] lunch was the very last of my Buffalo Chicken Chili – I need to make another batch of this soon!  I had two cups, 1/2 ounce cheddar cheese and [...]

  22. [...] 250 degrees until tender.  We’ll finish them off on the grill tonight.   But I did make my Best Buffalo Chicken Chili to have later in the week for lunches and to freeze some.    I now have a printer friendly version [...]

  23. [...] also prepared my first new dish. I had chosen Biz’ Best Buffalo Chicken Chili to experiment with, and it was a good choice, because it was very easy to prepare. The chili is [...]

  24. [...] mac three ways (using my Best Buffalo Chicken Chili [...]

  25. [...] it was on to Plan B!  My tried and true Buffalo Chicken Chili – except I left out the Frank’s hot sauce on this one.  Even then, it was just on the [...]

  26. [...] Is anyone watching Master Chef?  The second round cooked last night to make their signature dish – I was trying to think what mine would be and I am not sure!  Although I did make my chicken tikka masala for my lunch today – the combination of flavors is just amazing to me.  And I finally came up with a chili recipe that works – my buffalo chicken chili. [...]

  27. [...] it was so cool in the morning I made buffalo chicken chili for dinner – I had every intention of making it chili mac and when I brought it to the table, [...]

  28. [...] was leftovers: my buffalo chicken chili with 1 cup cooked pasta and red pepper slices.  Lunch: 498 calories, 70 carbs, 23 protein, 15 fat [...]

  29. [...] I have to think the recipe I am most proud of is my buffalo chicken chili.  Prior to this chili, my husband and I just gave into the fact that we were not chili making [...]

  30. Chili looks delicious! Love how you prepped the chicken, great idea. Thanks for sharing. Great idea for breakfast too with the apple and cheese.

  31. Oh my god, this DOES look good! A second bowl is totally justified! :)

  32. [...] have a plan tonight . . . my buffalo chicken chili over homemade whole wheat pasta – a South Beach chili [...]

  33. [...] made chili mac to go with our Dreamfield’s pasta – my award winning Buffalo Chicken Chili. I can say that because one of my sisters co-workers entered it in a chili cookoff and won out of 20 [...]

  34. [...] it was 11:15, but I knew I had to have something to eat before lunch, so I heated up a cup of my buffalo chicken chili. That hit the [...]

  35. I made your Buffalo Chicken Chili the other night! I loved it, shared it with a neighbor and she raved about it, too! Thanks for a great recipe.

  36. Oh my goodness!!!! I made your Buffalo Chicken Chili this weekend (in the crockpot) and it is AMAZING. I used pre-ground chicken (1.2 pound pkg.), I added a few extra carrots and extra celery and even threw in a small zucchini. I added about a 1/2 a cup of water since I did not buy quite enough tomato sauce (I used two 8 oz. cans instead of the larger cans you had listed… duh!). I loved how easy this was to throw together because I chopped up all the veggies in the food processor as suggested. We also added a bit of granulated sugar to cut some of the acidity. My husband normally looks at my healthy recipes with chicken and veggies and says, “Glad that is for YOU and not for ME! I won’t be eating THAT!”, but I tell you… he’s been gobbling up this chili. If he would have know all those veggies were in there, he would have never tried it. The leftovers are fantastic too. Thanks for this great recipe. I look forward to trying more recipes on your blog!

    • That’s great! So glad you liked it! My husband is the same way – I once tried to hide veggies in his meatloaf – um, let’s just say it didn’t go over very well! :D

  37. [...] Blender Black Bean Soup Campbell’s Beef Taco Skillet Diner Meatloaf Muffins (healthy!) Buffalo Chicken Chili (J’s favorite) Puff Pastry Chicken Pot Pie (OK, but expensive) Caribbean Jerk Chicken legs [...]

  38. oh. my. gosh.

    That chili is GENIUS! bookmarked!

  39. This looks delicious! How many servings does it make?

    • Easily 10 – 12 cups: Nutrition Per Cup: 239 calories, 3.4 fat, 29 carbs, 7.5 fiber and 23.5 protein.

      It’s so good! I am having it for dinner tonight too! :D

  40. And just a little side note the label on your fruit says “guayaba” pronounced “gai yah bah” (Spanish for guava)

  41. I’ve made this chili twice now and it’s been a winner both times in my office chili cookoff. Thanks!

  42. [...] Best Buffalo Chicken Chili.  I made this nearly two years ago, but thanks to the wording of my blog post – it’s what [...]

  43. [...] of the partners at the firm I work at LOVES my buffalo chicken chili.  I always tell her first when I decide to make it and bring it [...]

  44. [...] have Biz to thank for this amazeballs recipe.  I like a lot of different chili’s (this is the eighth [...]

  45. This chili was awesome!

  46. [...] believe I have come a long way in chili making!  My Buffalo Chicken Chili is one of the highest recipes on this blog, getting about 100 hits a day.   But Tony? He [...]

  47. [...] with chance of rain most of the day.  No grilling at work today, so I made a batch of my Buffalo Chicken Chili for Souper Friday at work.  Hopefully this will be the last Friday that feels like chili [...]

  48. [...] made my buffalo chicken chili for Souper Friday at work – It was a big hit.  I had a whole crock pot full and there was [...]

  49. […] possible showers and a high around 63.  I nixed the grilling and know that everyone loves my Buffalo Chicken Chili, so I made a big pot of that, brought in some shredded cheddar, tortilla chips, and even chopped […]

  50. […] My most viewed recipe, especially now that fall is here – My Buffalo Chicken Chili […]

  51. This was delicious! I added red skin potatoes, quartered. For more ideas, check out my blog http://www.BetterOffHealthy.com!

  52. […] blog was about and what are a couple of their most popular posts.  This time of year?  My Buffalo Chicken Chili gets about 200 hits a day during football season.   My second most popular post is my […]

  53. […] football food – fail! Let’s go with this new recipe from My Bizzy Kitchen – buffalo chicken chili. Um, […]

Leave a Reply

