Israeli Couscous Salad and Saturday WI

You all know that I have anxiously been waiting to get my 10% goal, or 17 pounds lost since March 1.  I only had .8 to reach that goal today.

So.fricken.close.  But I’ll take it – I know my exercise has been changing the shape of my body, even if I don’t have a huge loss each week – but seriously?  .6 three weeks in a row? 

Today’s topic at WW was about the new Chose My Plate concept.  Basically half of your plate should be fruits and veggies, 1/4 protein and 1/4 carbs.  Looking back on the last couple weeks of what I have been eating, I think this week I really need to focus on the healthy guidelines, and making sure 1/2 of each meal is fruit and veggies. 😀

I figured out a way to have a two hour lunch on Fridays.  Agree to cook lunch for everyone!  We share office space with another company – we have half the building and they have the other half. We share an outdoor patio and they have provided a grill for us to use!

Here is our outdoor patio – its really cool once you put the umbrellas up so you aren’t sitting in the sun.

I sent an email to everyone to ask if they were in and asked for a $3 contribution – everyone who was in the office was game!  On the menu?  Greek chicken pitas with an israeli couscous salad and potato chips.

The chicken was cooked perfectly, but I think I loved the salad more.  I kind of just kept throwing stuff in the mix and adding to the sauce – loved it!

Israeli Couscous Salad

  • heaping 1/2 cup is 4 PointsPlus (makes 12 servings)

Ingredients:

  • 6 ounces couscous, cooked according to package directions, cooled
  • 6 cups chopped romaine lettuce
  • 4 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 an english cucumber, chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • zest of one lemon
  • juice of one lemon
  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup roasted sun flower seeds

Mix together the olive oil, garlic, cilantro, crushed red pepper, zest, lemon juice, sugar and salt and pepper and mix well.  In a large bowl, add cooked couscous, chopped romaine, raisins and vinagrette and mix well.  Just before serving, add sunflower seeds so they don’t get mushy.

I loved the softness of the couscous with the crunch of the cucumber and romaine and the sweetness of the raisins against the lemon zest.  Yum!

Check out what I finally ordered for myself:

I like how it says on the first page “you may be so overwhlemed by all the controls on your camera that you haven’t yet ventured beyone fully auto picture-taking mode.  Which is a shame because it’s sort of like buying a Porche 911 and never heading out for the open road.”

Hopefully I will be able to learn how to use my camera better.  Because while I can once in a while take a picture like this:

The very next picture turns out like this:

Enjoy your Saturday!  Tony and I are just about to go out to lunch and hit up a Japanese grocery store. 😀

21 thoughts on “Israeli Couscous Salad and Saturday WI

  1. C’mon biz, 0.6 is simply your lucky number. Embrace it!! At least you are losing. I am not. Then again, I’m not taking time for WW either.

  2. When I did WW, I was in the 0.5 club. For months. And I bitched and moaned about it like no other, but my WW leader was awesome. She kept reminding me that it will still a loss and then she asked the group about the benefits of pokey weight loss. My favorite perk: the lady who told me that slow weight loss would save me thousands in skin removal surgery later on! She may or may not be right, but we all got a good laugh about it.

    I know it’s so darned frustrating, but you’re doing great and eating well and sticking to a diet that is maintainable, not too restrictive and allows for the occasional indulgences. So you’re getting a high five from this girl!

  3. Well, at least you’re consistent! How crazy, losing the exact same amount week after week…but at least you’re losing!

    What a fun way to spend your work time – and I’m sure everyone loved the lunch you prepared! I agree, that salad looks amazing…I’d be all over that in a heartbeat!

  4. You will get there next week, esp if you focus on eating more fruits and veg! Good job–you’re still moving steadily in the right direction. You’ve got some lucky co-workers-I bet they love you! I hope that book helps–I know I’d be clueless with anything but my own point-and-shoot.

  5. Darn, did you pee first?!
    You’re doing great, Biz! You’ll get your 10% next week !!

    I think you missed your calling – you should be a caterer!!!

  6. You’re doing so awesome! The slow and steady wins it! Um, come work with me! What an awesome lunch. Your coworkers are lucky. I totally want to try the couscous salad

  7. Just remember – losing is losing! 🙂

  8. Think of it as losing a stick of butter each week. 8 sticks of butter in 3 weeks! That’s a lot of butta that’s no longer with you! 🙂 That sticker is all yours next week!!!

  9. I’m already noticing changes in my body (though, I wish I could target where it changes i.e. my thunda thighs!) and that makes me motivated to continue on this journey! I do need to eat more fruits and veggies though. I’ve been a ravenous beast this week and I think that’s why. Perhaps a challenge for myself this week?!

  10. You will definitely get there next week and look at how consistent you are being at going down and not up! I am just hoping I can do as well as you are. That salad looks so yummy, I am definitely going to try it.

  11. I love your patio! I am dying for a big backyard like that. They only exist for big bucks in California!

    Good luck on your weigh-in next week. You’re so close!

  12. Wow, I can’t believe you missed it by 0.2, but you’ll definitely get there next week. And a consistent 0.6 is better than a lot of things. But I do know what it feels like to be so close and just really, really want it. The chicken looks delicious. Sounds like a fun lunch. You reminded me that I need to buy some sort of dummy or how-to book for my Canon Digital Rebel T3 that I just got a few weeks ago. I’m like you. I’ve taken a few that I think turned out pretty well along with several that were not so great!

  13. You are so close! You can do it Biz.

    Your work patio looks amazing – I bet it would be awesome in early fall when it gets cooler out.

    Nice grill!

  14. I wish we had lunches like that at work – how fun! I love Israeli couscous and your salad sounds like it would really hit the spot right about now!

  15. Oh man, so close! Good job on losing. What a treat for everyone that you get to cook for them. The salad looks great, I am going to give that a try this week.

  16. what a gorgeous patio to enjoy lunch, the couscous looks wonderful, lucky coworkers!

  17. Thank you so much for sharing that couscous recipe. I’ve been wanting to try a recipe with it. Now, I will 🙂 Looks delicious!

  18. Ahhh! So close! You’re doing awesome, Biz! So impressed! I didn’t WI this week. Crazy busy!

    I have that Nikon (for D5000) for Dummies — I’m going to read it on my upcoming flight…finally!

  19. You make me laugh – I love the last picture you shared. That couscous salad looks delicious.

  20. I love that cous cous salad, raisins and sunflower seeds are such fun additions!!! I definitely want to make this, it’s perfect for summer!

  21. Blurry or not that cheesecake looks amazing!

    I just bought some Israeli couscous from Bob’s Red Mill and had no idea what to do with it. I think a salad sounds great!

Leave a Reply

