Weeknight Deep Dish Pizza – Holy Shizz

I guess I can’t really call my breakfast yesterday a quiche because there is no crust and I baked it in a square dish, so let’s just call it a breakfast bake?

Bacon and Broccoli Breakfast Bake (4 servings – each one is 5 WW points)

  • 3 cups chopped fresh broccoli
  • 2 slices bacon
  • 1 carton of egg beaters (16 ounces)
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 2 ounces cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

Saute the broccoli and bacon together, until the bacon is crisp.  Let cool slightly.  In a large bowl mix all the ingredients together and mix well – then pour into an 8×8 inch square pan.  Bake at 350 for 45 minutes, or until the eggs are set.

My plate – 1 serving of the bake, 1 ounce of toast, and canteloupe – breakfast comes in at 8 WW points.

This actually kept me full for quite a while.  It was super busy at work because one of the other secretaries is out this week.  I don’t mind at all because I am busy and she does different stuff than I normally do, so its a nice change of pace.

It was overcast and chilly – around 30 degrees when I decided to go for my walk.  It wouldn’t have been so bad if the wind wasn’t so strong, and I need to remember to bring gloves today – that was the only part that was cold was my hands.

I walked for a brisk 50 minutes. 😀  I was happy to come back to the office for soup and salad – although I overdressed the salad and it was gross – luckily it was late in the day and this 7 point serving of chicken noodle soup held me over until dinner just fine.

Two tablespoons of Newman's Own light balsamic was a tad too much 😦

When I was doing our meal plan over the weekend I asked Tony if he felt like anything and he shocked the shit out of me by asking for deep dish pizza!  The original recipe found in this post is quite labor intensive, while not difficult.  It rises two times.  I wanted to see if I could make a simpler weeknight version, with equally delicious results.  Um, success!

Yesterday morning I made the dough (everything but the 2 tablespoons of room temp butter) – since everyone was still sleeping I just used a wooden spoon and some elbow grease and when it was almost all incorporated, put it on my floured counter and kneaded it for all of 5 minutes.  I put it in a bowl with olive oil, put plastic wrap on the top and set it on top of my stove for the day.

Dough  updated:  this dough makes 2, 9 inch pizzas, or 8 servings – the dough is 7 points per serving – with my toppings of sausage/pepperoni/mozzarella – each slice is 12 ww points 😀
  • 3 1/4 cups (16 1/4 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup (2 3/4 ounces) yellow cornmeal
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons table salt
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons instant or rapid-rise yeast
  • 1 1/4 cups water (10 ounces), room temperature
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter , melted, plus 2 tablespoons, softened
  • 1 teaspoon (plus 2 teaspoon olive oil for the cake pan)

As soon as I walked in the door I set my stove for 425.  (My oven takes a while to come to temperature).  After kissing Tony hello and chatting for a couple minutes, I got to work.  I divided the dough in half.  I rolled half of the dough out, and with 2 tablespoons of room temperature butter, spread that all across the dough.

I then rolled it back into a ball, and rolled it out again to fit my 9 inch cake pan.  Be sure to be about 2 teaspoons of olive oil in your cake pan before adding the dough.

Then I put 6 ounces shredded cheese on the bottom, then 4 ounces of Italian sausage, 2 ounces of pepperoni, and then my pizza sauce.  I cheated and bought Dei Fratelli Italian sauce that I just doctored up with more Italian seasoning and garlic.  I added about 2/3 a cup of sauce over the top, then drizzled with 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese.

Dressed with the sauce and Parmesan cheese – ready for the oven:

The original recipe says to bake 20 – 30 minutes, I find 25 minutes to be perfect.  You do have to wait a minimum of five minutes before slicing, which let me tell you, is super hard to do.  I mean, look at this crust??!!

I cut this into 4 pieces, and after I ate one slice, I had 1/4 more, it was that good.  This weeknight version made a lighter version without the second rise in the refrigerator.  I got home from work at 5:45, and the pizza was ready to eat at 6:25 = pretty sure that’s faster than delivery!

I haven’t figured out the points yet, but my guess is around 15.  I’ll update it later when I figure out the points.  So worth the points though!  Mara, let me know if you make this weeknight version!

Stats for Tuesday:

  • 30 WW points
  • 50 minute walk
  • average blood sugar 142

Question of the Day:  Thin crust or deep dish?  While I love my supa crunchy thin crust, I think I have to give it up for this deep dish.  Next time I want to make a deep dish spinach pizza!

Make it a great day!

30 thoughts on “Weeknight Deep Dish Pizza – Holy Shizz

  1. All of your eats for the day look amazing! I need to make this recipe for deep dish as soon as Ray gets home, he’d go crazy over it 🙂

    I’m a New York style pizza girl myself….maybe because, I’ve never really had deep dish? haha

  2. Soup is that much better when you come in from the cold!!!! I am not normally a deep dish fan, but you make it look so darn good 😉

  3. I’m more of a thin crust pizza person – the deep dish (I’ve never had it) looks like it has too much stuff on it. However, your version looks pretty good, and how cool that you made it on a weeknight!!!

    Yes, get you some gloves. Cold hands are the worst when you’re trying to do something good for yourself. A+ for walking in that chilly weather!

  4. Mark has been BEGGING for deep-dish again but the recipe I tried was also really labor-intensive. I can’t wait to make this for him 🙂

  5. I love deep dish! This looks fabulous.

  6. Crustless quiche? Frittata? I still think you can call it what you want. I won’t be the quiche police.

    That deep dish pizza looks awesome! I like a regular crust. Not the thin-crispy kind.

  7. A lot of people don’t realize how much two tablespoons of salad dressing is. I make huge salads and always use 1 tablespoon – it doesn’t look like a lot at the beginning, but by the end every single bite had some on it and there is some left on the plate. I LOVE salad and dressing but the sodium and calories are so high it is easy to just measure one tablespoon and cut both right in half. I never get people that need 3 and 4 little plastic cups of the stuff for their salads – they are eating dressing, not lettuce and veggies.

    ::hopping off my sodium wagon now::

    That pizza still looks amazing – it raised nicely but I just don’t like deep dish. I guess I am from the wrong part of the country. heehee 🙂 My kids would love me eternally if I made that tho’. 🙂

    You look like a teenager in that pic’ where you are all wrapped up. At first I thought it was Hannah. Dang woman – you look amazing. 🙂

    • You are too kind Skip! People always ask me what I use on my face since I am almost 44 years old – I see them cringe when I tell them I usually wash my face in the shower. . . with shampoo! 😀

      • You do look very youthful and it’s a beautiful photo. But I did chuckle at the shampoo comment! Hmmm- What kind? Maybe it has some magic anti-aging ingredient.

  8. I’m partial to NY pizza, but I think it’s because I haven’t had proper deep crust pizza before. But when it all comes down to it, all pizza is good pizza. 🙂 Yes, even pizza hut!

  9. I’ve never been a real fan of deep dish pizza – give me a thin crust every time! Having said this . . . if Beth says that this deep dish is the supa living end I’ve got to give it a shot. Everything she cooks is fantastic! The granola sounds like a winner too!

  10. I love deep dish/thicker crust pizza. All the better to deliver the sauce and cheese 🙂 I don’t mind thin crust as long as it’s not too crispy, I like to have that “chew” factor to the crust!

  11. I made a breakfast bake this morning. They are really satisfying.

    Holy shiz, that crust looks to die for. I haven’t been brave enough to try making a gluten-free deep dish pizza crust but maybe I’ll try it this week!

  12. I would eat pizza three times a day, every day. I don’t care if it’s deep dish, thin, or regular. I love pizza. I worked at a pizza place for more than a year in high school and never got sick of it.

    What are you wearing for a face warmer and where did you get it? I’m trying to figure out how to keep from freezing to death (and falling on my butt) when walking outside.

    • It’s like we are long lost sisters! Yep, I worked in a bar that made great pizza – I was in the kitchen every Wednesday night by myself, and I would always make myself a pizza for dinner – still never get sick of it. 😀

  13. Hey you! The man wants pizza the man gets pizza, and the good stuff too! So happy he is ready to eat more than soft foods. I have got to try this recipe, especially after eating deep dish when I was in Chicago. Looks like Christmas was good to you all. I have been lazy and turned the computer on for the first time today. My oldest has had pneumonia plus his birthday and my daughters birthday. I hosted Christmas dinner too- so I am pooped! Totally lazy now and can’t get back into the swing of things!!

  14. holy cow does that look wonderful! how bout I just come over and have a slice of yours? lol

  15. Pizza looks awesome!!

  16. I need to make deep dish pizza! This looks amazing!!! I am drooling over my computer right now. YUM!

  17. I pinned your last deep dish pizza, but I have a feeling this one will be replacing it on my board! Are you on Pinterest?

  18. I love soup on a cold day!
    I’m not normally a pizza girl, but when we’re in Chicago visiting my sister I ALWAYS splurge on deep dish. It isn’t a trip without it!

  19. I didn’t know you were a secretary. This means we have the same profession because I am one too.

    I never make my own pizza’s because we hardly eat pizza, maybe twice a year or so. And if we do, we order them.

  20. That crust looks FANTASTIC! As does your breakfast bake. I can remember growing up drowning my salads in ranch because I didn’t like the taste of the veggies… but now I love my salads with just a touch of dressing so the veggie flavor can shine through… funny how tastes change! 🙂

  21. i’ve got to make this pizza! i usually go for the super flat crust, but your pictures make this look amazing. perfect post-holiday meal…no? haha oh well. it’s going on a future menu anyway!

Leave a comment