Ladies and Gentlemen. . . the Jack in the Box Taco!

When I started coming up with breakfasts for my boss, I asked her if she liked Greek yogurt and she shrugged her nose and said, “not really.”  I am kind of a Greek yogurt snob, Chobani is my favorite Greek yogurt.

So I decided to make her a Vanilla chobani parfait.  I made another batch of Nicole’s Sweet & Salty Granola – and then put a layer of yogurt, sliced banana, granola, and then over the weekend I made a strawberry sauce – it was 1 cup of strawberries, 1/3 cup water and 2 tablespoons of Splenda – just cooked on the stove top for about 10 minutes until the sauce became thick.

jitb 005

Guess what?  She loved it!  She didn’t even realize she was eating Greek yogurt – I think she was always eating the plain version, which I actually prefer in a parfait, otherwise its too sweet for me.

And I have to thank my co-worker J for bringing me some new flavored Chobani – I haven’t tried the pear one yet – she’s bartering the Chobani for her Souper Friday lunch – deal!  I love how you can see the bacon in the background – it’s all about balance, right? Hot smile

jitb 026

I was super busy at work yesterday, and actually thought I wasn’t going to have a chance to work out, but I basically stood up, left what I was working on and said “I am going to work out – I’ll be back in an hour.”  No one stopped me. Open-mouthed smile

I ended doing a HIIT run – 3 minutes running, 2 minutes walking on an incline, and did that 7 times.  My last 3 minute run was at 6.0 mph, or a 10 minute mile pace, and I felt great!

0

When I got back to work, I had more lasagna soup – I seriously have an addiction to this soup.  Check out how many times I’ve linked to it on Suzie’s blog!

On the side was some toasted Artisan bread.  So good!

jitb 010

So when Tony found a copycat recipe for the Jack in the Box tacos, the first thing that caught our eye is that these are make ahead tacos – because you have to freeze them and they go straight from freezer to fryer.  I also altered the recipe a bit, because I have no idea what soy protein powder is.  Either way, the taco meat was spot on.

Jack in the Box Taco Meat

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 cups cold water
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon plain chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon masa corn flour
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon Accent seasoning (I used seasoned salt)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 dash ground black pepper
  • 1 dash cayenne pepper

Brown the ground beef.  Add in remaining ingredients and bring to a boil and let boil for five minutes.  Let cool slightly.  Put in your food processor to puree.  For each taco I used 3 tablespoons of meat.  Heat your tortillas in the microwave so they are pliable and don’t break.

jitb 001

jitb 002

I folded the tacos over, and then put them in a ziploc bag.  Next time I am going to put them on a cookie sheet to freeze individually before putting in a ziploc – a couple of them stuck together and broke.

Heat your fryer or oil in a pot to 350.  Fry for 1-2 minutes.  Pry open the hot taco (careful!) and add a triangle slice of American cheese, shredded iceburg lettuce, and the Jack in the Box Taco Sauce:

Jack in the Box Taco Sauce:

Mix all the ingredients in a pan and bring to a boil.  Let boil for 5 minutes, then remove from heat to cool.  This was very close to the sauce – although we did agree it could have had a bit more heat and tang.

Here they are frozen and ready to go for a dip in the fryer:

jitb 016

jitb 019 copy

That was kind of a shitty picture above, but I wanted to show you how the beef got crispy on the sides from the hot oil.

jitb 024

Hot damn, these were good.  Super crispy, not greasy.  My eyes were bigger than my stomach, I ate 2 1/2 before having to stop – our dog happily licked our plates clean.

Alright, I have to jump in the shower and get my ass in gear.  It’s so weird, here we are at the end of January, it’s 7:30 in the morning and its already 57 degrees!  I wish it would stay like that, but its stormy too – I would have liked a sunny day at that temp!

Just curious – are any of you going to replicate the Jack in the Box taco at home? 

Make it a great day!

42 thoughts on “Ladies and Gentlemen. . . the Jack in the Box Taco!

  1. Tacos look interesting. I won’t be making them though as I only have about 4 of the ingredients and no fryer.

  2. I love chobani but always mix it with cottage cheese or plain yogurt so it’s not as sweet. They have great flavors but honestly I’d rather just eat plain with fresh fruit and a little honey.

    You know what’s weird is most moms have tacos in their regular food rotation, why don’t I? I think I will have to try those tacos. My husband ate at Taco Bell all the time growing up (what guy didn’t?) I am sure it will bring back all sorts of good memories.

    • I’ve never thought to add cottage cheese to Chobani! So glad you daughter enjoyed the play – can’t believe she only gets a 2 week break before Little Mermaid starts!

  3. We’ve been eating tri tip tacos…but no, I dont have a fryer.

    • Tri tips are something I need to buy – I never think of it – glad you survived your single parenthood while the hubs was traveling – maybe this weekend you’ll get some sleep!

  4. Interesting that you puree the ground beef mixture – I guess that’s how they did it for the Taco Bell tacos, too (my former addiction). And to answer your question, no, I won’t be making these…I could drive a mile done the road and buy the real thing (jealous, Tony? 😉 ), but I don’t really don’t eat fast food anymore. Still, I’m impressed at the work you put into replicating these!

  5. Yayy for parfaits! They’re just the bestest. And your dinner looks restaurant quality. Great work chicky. Hope you have a good day

    • Loved the pictures of Frank on your blog – he was so tiny as a puppy – and that he got steak for a treat was nice (we give our dog table food ALL the time!)

  6. that parfait looks absolutely amazing… if anyone wanted to make me that for breakfast, i’d be in 🙂

  7. I love plain Chobani and that parfait looks so good. I just cannot keep the crackola in my home. Your boss and co-workers sure are lucky. If your office ever needs a nurse please put in a good word!!

  8. I love the Chobani pineapple yogurt, but my favorite is the plain Chobani with chopped pistachios, sliced bananas and drizzled with dark honey.

    You may have spoiled Tony by cracking the secret taco recipe.

  9. I have a fryer but it stays out in the garage on the extra appliance shelf and we RARELY use it. Maybe once a summer I’ll cook us some fried chicken out on the patio but other than that I can’t remember the last time I did use it. So no, I don’t ever see myself replicating these as I’m satisfied with a taco made with an already crunchy shell that I bake. Glad you left the Accent out, that’s nothing but MSG!

    • I actually didn’t even know they sold Accent anymore. Yep, the deep fryer is dangerous – I’ve cleaned it out and its in the basement out of plain sight. 😀

  10. If it was just me, I would definitely try your recipe. Love the freezing thing because then I’m not eating tacos for days on end. But….tacos are my sweeties pride and joy to make for us. Since I know him so well – if I took his “famous tacos recipe” away, he’d never cook for me again. And he is a GREAT cook. The sacrifices I make ~ LOL
    Good for you for taking time for yourself and getting the workout in! I’m off to check out that granola recipe. I just bought a huge container of Greek yogurt from Costco. Did you know they sell Chobani there?

  11. I think the soy protein they’re calling for is the same thing is TVP (textured vegetable protein). That looked like a lot of work and ingredients so I’m glad it turned out! They look perfect!

  12. Wow those tacos look amazing! I have never cared for deep fried tacos.I won’t be trying them either – no fryer here and we try not to eat deep fat fried foods. The only exception is when we go back to NE and have some deep fried onion chips but that only happens once a year and sometimes I pay for it hours later. My body just isn’t use to a lot of grease.

    The chobani yogurts are super sweet for me and I actually prefer plain yogurt with fresh or frozen fruit. I know we all have different taste buds, my mom adds a little sweetener to Chobani as they aren’t sweet enough for her!

  13. Even though we have a JITB less than a mile from us (sorry Tony!) I really want to try and make these myself. I am pinning this to Tom’s board 🙂

  14. Those tacos look amazing – yum! 🙂

  15. I can’t make them at this time b/c my fryer is broke (remember I went to make your onion rings 🙂 ) We don’t have Jack in the Box so I wouldn’t know what I was comparing it to either! Now, if you can duplicate the chicken baja chalupa from Taco Bell, I’ll be your new BFF 😀

  16. I wont even say what that beef mixture looks like. Glad you enjoyed them though : ). I make ground turkey tacos( I use ground breast meat), that I cook with a red onion( I know, I probably lost you right there), taco seasoning mix and pace picante. I shallow fry up the corn tortillas into taco shells and serve with shredded lettuce and cheese. Thankfully, my partner loves those and doesnt ask me to make ground beef( even though she eats beef).

    • Do you use ground turkey breast? Just wondering – ground chicken and turkey kind of gives me the creeps. And it’s okay that you love onions, I won’t hold it against you! 😀

      • Yes, ground turkey breast( Jenny O). The dark meat turkey is too strong for me. I do use it when I make turkey meatballs( half dark, half white). I have an awesome turkey meatball recipe that came from an old, old issue of cooking light. The meatballs have zucchini, parmesean, green onion, carrot and parsley in them. Everything is chopped in the food processor so you cant even see the veggies, but it makes the balls so moist.
        Btw, my BS was 89 the other morning. I LOVE THE PUMP.

  17. Those tacos look oh so delicious, but no, probably will not make them here. I like Chobani chocolate chip the best. Today I bought plain Chobani, going to start using that instead of using sour cream.

  18. So glad the tacos were a success!!!

  19. Taco’s look very good but don’t think I’ll make it myself. We hardly eat taco’s although seeing this gives me an idea to put them on the menu someday soon again.

    Today the temperature is so high, it has hardly ever been this high on January 30, and to think last week this day our butts were freezing off. Weird!

  20. Those tacos look so good! You are so about to convince me to get a fryer. Dang it! Like I need one more appliance! lol. What did you add to your lasagna soup, spinach?

  21. I’m going to try that soup! I’d kill for 57 degrees–it’s 5 here! Brr.

  22. Just made these – they were delicious! I made them in the oven instead (400 for about 12 mins, brushed with oil). I also mixed in some refried beans to the meat mixture (after pureeing it) cause I felt like it 🙂 These are definitely going in the meal rotation. THANK YOU for posting this! This is the only thing I would ever order from JITB – I haven’t had them in years & they taste just like the real thing!

  23. […] the time I changed clothes, it was after 8 and I had no desire to fix anything for dinner.  So Jack in the Box Tacos came to the rescue.  I think the original recipe I had made at least 16 […]

Leave a Reply

