Souper Friday–Beef and Potato Stew with Olive Oil Cheddar Biscuits

I woke up yesterday morning and within 5 minutes I was making biscuits!  I made my soup for the office the night before and when I woke up, I remembered I never made the biscuits.  No worries, because these are so simple.  I adapted this recipe from this one.

Simple Cheese Biscuits

  • made 13 biscuits – each one: 131 calories, 5 fat, 17 carbs, 1 fiber, 5 protein and 213 mg sodium

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups bread flour (divided)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • pinch of salt

Mix 2 1/4 cups of flour and rest of the ingredients and blend with a wooden spoon, just until flour is mixed in.  Put the remaining 1/4 cup of flour on your counter, knead the dough a few times to incorporate the rest of the flour, then roll out – with my size biscuit cutter (I think 2 inches?) I got 13 biscuits.  Bake at 450 degrees for 10-12 minutes (my oven took 12 minutes) until golden brown.

fishtaco 009

So good – flakey, with the saltiness of the cheese – the perfect companion to the beef and potato soup.  I adapted this recipe from this one.

Beef and Potato Stew

I doubled the recipe, so this is for a crowd – makes 10 servings at 1.5 cups each.  Each serving:  272 calories, 11 fat, 29 carbs, 5 fiber and 17 protein, 878 mg sodium

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 pounds ground beef (I used 85/15)
  • 2 large baked potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 6 cups low sodium beef broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 6 oz. cans of tomato paste
  • 2 15 ounce cans of fire roasted tomatoes
  • 2 10 ounce cans of mild rotel tomatoes
  • 2 15 ounce cans of corn, drained
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • crushed red pepper to taste

Heat a stock pot over medium high heat.  Brown the beef and drain any fat.  I pureed the canned tomatoes, but feel free to leave them chunky.  Add all the remaining ingredients except the corn, turn the heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes.  Since I knew I was going to be reheating the soup in a crockpot at work, I took the soup off the heat and poured in the corn then.

fishtaco 006

I thought it could use a bit more spice, so I added a few pickled jalapenos. Open-mouthed smile  Everyone gave this a thumbs up – especially since our temps never made it over 10 degrees!

Tony called me in the afternoon and asked if I had any thoughts for dinner – which is Tony speak for “don’t fucking pick pizza!”   I said “what haven’t we had in a while?”  He said “how about fish tacos?”  Done!  We both had beer battered fish tacos on the brain.

I don’t actually like a lot of fish.  Tilapia, which I know a lot of people love, has a weird, dirty aftertaste to me.  I suggested mahi mahi.  You can usually find them in the frozen food section, and they thaw pretty quick.

I don’t really know to calculate the calories for this, because I had a ton batter leftover.  I got the recipe from this site (cool food pics on this site too!)  My camera was in the car so instagram stood in – I had two tacos – four pieces of fried fish, 2 tortillas, a tablespoon of black beans, a tablespoon of canned corn and lettuce.  Delish!

fish taco

I am thrilled that I have people joining my Play 60 Challenge!  The goal is to move for 60 minutes.  How did I do?  I did 35 minutes on the treadmill on 7% incline.

workout

And then I moved a lot at work – a total of 60 minutes of moving boxes from one side of the office to another – every time I picked up a box I did a squat – my thighs feel it today!

Total stats for the day:

  • 1339 calories
  • 62 fat
  • 128 carbs
  • 61 protein
  • 11 fiber
  • 95 minutes of moving!

Tony and I are going to grocery shop – I have my menu all planned, and our football food for tomorrow – Tony wants Hooter’s shrimp, and steak tartar.  And I have a trip to the gym planned! Open-mouthed smile  I think I am going to try this workout:

99

I have no idea how long it will take me though!  Wish me luck.  Have a great weekend!

23 thoughts on “Souper Friday–Beef and Potato Stew with Olive Oil Cheddar Biscuits

  1. I love fish tacos, yours look good. I actually hate tilapia. Its a farmed fish and it comes from asia. Totally bad for the environment. Sometimes, when I’m craving a fish taco, I use fish sticks. I get these really healthy minimally processed sticks from Costco. Julie hates all fish, but she will eat those. Go figure.

  2. Those fish tacos look so good! And they were instagrammed? No way! Gorgeous layout!

    Your stew looks really good, too. I don’t know if you addressed this earlier and I missed it, but how did you come about cooking food for the entire office on Fridays?

    • In the summer time our office has a patio with a grill. Friday’s were our grill Friday’s and it was nice to eat lunch together outside.

      I decided to do Souper Friday instead – sometimes we eat together, sometimes we don’t. I usually bring the soup in and heat it up in the crock pot, and send an email when its heated through – I have 10 people in my office, I ask for a $4 donation per person for my time and ingredients. I use the money to offset my family grocery shop – its a win for everyone! 😀

  3. Holy smokes! That workout looks darn near impossible! Bet you will feel great when you’re done. 🙂 I’m in for the 60 minute play challenge. Does ping-pong count? Got in a 41 minute walk/run this morning and played ping-pong for 35 minutes. Next I’m going grocery shopping. Hold up… maybe I should save the shopping for tomorrow – don’t want to move too much. 😉 Enjoy your weekend!

  4. Have I mentioned that I want to work with you? Friday would be an EVEN better day with your soup!! Stew is always a comforting meal. That 99 workout looks just awesome

  5. That looks like a crazy workout! I want those biscuits. I hiked for two hours today so I’m feeling carby.

  6. Holy crap. That’s quite the workout lined up. Good luck!!

    I moved for 60 minutes today! I did 42 minutes on my road bike (it’s on an indoor trainer), and a 20 minute run on the treadmill at my gym before lifting a few weights, foam rolling and stretching. Felt phenomenal. 🙂

  7. I am crazy about fish tacos. I had some today. Yum!

  8. The Ninety-Nine sounds like a great workout. Let us know how it was!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  9. The ninety-nine…that would take me a week to do.

  10. I made your Black Bean soup for my co-workers on Wednesday. They loved it! Thank you so much for posting such great recipes. I would love to work in your office 🙂

  11. Let me know if you did the 99! I did two 12 minute workouts + a 20 minute workout on You tube yesterday – the 20 minute one was with weights and my arms are killing today!

  12. Those biscuits look amazing!

  13. Tilapia tastes muddy because it’s a fresh water fish. And depending on where it is raised, the taste will be affected. I find many fresh water fish to have that dirty, muddy flavour. I’m a fish snob – it’s gotta be from the ocean for me to eat it!

    That work out looks intense, but weirdly fun. If I could find any time in my crazy week (and energy), I would totally try it, because it doesn’t require any equipment.

  14. Idon’t like many fish either but I do like tilapia and cod fish and canned tuna.

    I like the variation of workouts you choose everytime.

  15. You had me at ‘cheddar biscuits.’ These are the PERFECT partner for a warm chili. Will try soon!

  16. Temps less than 30 make me cringe, I don’t know how you do it!! The stew does look like a great way to warm up though, especially with the additional jalapenos, yum!

Leave a Reply

