Tabasco is in the house and curds and whey

Seriously, I have NEVER seen a bottle of Tabasco sauce this huge!  12 ounces!

This should last me the month of January!

This should last me the month of January!

 So I got the ingredients to make ricotta cheese! 

Homemade Ricotta Cheese

  • 1 quart whole milk
  • 1 cup heavy cream (turns out heavy whipping cream is the same thing!)
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar

Pour the milk and cream in a saucepan.  Add the salt.  Bring to a simmer over medium heat.

When the milk is simmering, turn off the heat and pour in the vinegar.  Leave it alone for 1 minute.  Then start to stir slowly and gently.  The milk will start to separate into curds and whey (the whey is the LIQUID part!).  After 3 minutes, pour the mixture into a strainer that’s lined with cheesecloth.   Put the stainer over a pot that lets the liquid drain.  Let it drain for 15 minutes. 

So the recipe said that this would yield 1 1/2 cups – I probably got 1 cup?  It’s okay though, because Tony doesn’t like ricotta and I used fresh mozzarella in his ravioli!

you can kind of see the curds forming!

you can kind of see the curds forming!

After I took it out of the cheesecloth, I put it right in the fridge because it was still pretty hot.

it was really light!

it was really light!

So Tony’s ravioli mix was cooked shrimp, fresh basil, garlic, Italian seasoning, and fresh mozzarella – mixed in a food processor:

p1010011-640x480

My mix was identical, except I added crushed red pepper and LOTS of cracked pepper to mine!

p1010013-640x480

So Hannah’s filling was all cheese – a combo of ricotta, fresh mozzarella, cracked pepper and salt.  I had to label everything to keep it straight!

p1010014-640x480

Here’s how the first wrap looks:

p1010016-640x480

So I didn’t realize the wonton wrappers I got were more rectangular, so this is what they turned out looking like:

p1010017-640x480

I tried, but apparently Hannah didn’t get the concept of crimping her edges – sadly, about 4 of her ravioli didn’t survive the water bath, and we had ricotta cheese floating on the top of the water!

I liked that each one of hers is a different shape!

I liked that each one of hers is a different shape!

Hannah’s dish, with no sauce!

p1010021-640x480

Here’s my plate.  Unfortunately, my blood sugar was dropping like a rock, so I only took one picture of mine before I had to dig in!

I love the taste of fresh basil!

I love the taste of fresh basil!

So looking forward to my post tomorrow and my first day of the month giveaway!  Stay tuned!

See you tomorrow!

16 thoughts on “Tabasco is in the house and curds and whey

  1. that dish seriously looks amazing!! homemade ricotta cheese?? very impressive =) it almost looks like cottage cheese!

  2. Wow, everything looks so delicious!! Amazing Biz!

  3. What a cool dinner! Nice work! This is truly a homemade dish!

  4. Hey Thanks for visiting my blog. This dish looks so good. I be the fresh ricotta was awesome! 🙂

  5. WOWZA that’s a lot of hot sauce, haha!!

    Great dinner!!

  6. I need to find a bottle that big up here!!

    GORGEOUS dinner – great job!

  7. Love your blog! Thanks for stopping by mine; I’ll look forward to your giveaway!

  8. I love the idea of using wonton wrappers for ravioli! I think I may try it this weekend! Thanks for the inspiration 😀

  9. Was the home-made ricotta much different from store-bought? I’ll have to try this one…

    • Hey Cassie!

      Yes, it was WAY lighter than store bought. Although I did do a you-tube search, and cheesemakers use something different to make the curds – not anything you could find in a store.

      It was good though!

  10. OMG that looks delicious!!!

  11. Remind me to send you a pic of the gallon jug of chipotle Tabasco I have… and if you’re ever in Louisiana – go to the Tabasco plantation!

  12. PS the dinner looks delicious!!

  13. Your style is so unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.

    Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this page.

  14. Make sure your loan paperwork clearly outlines your rate and fees.
    This is the best way to fill those financial gaps quickly. Continued.

  15. We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your web site offered us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done a formidable process and our whole community will likely be grateful
    to you.

Leave a comment