Chicken Divan

So my lunch was just okay.  I got these whole wheat pita pockets, the whole one is 140 calories.  But I was UNABLE to get the pockets open!  Ggrrr!  So I ended up making a ham and swiss sandwich out of it, but even with my jalapeno mustard, it was a bit dry.  I ended up throwing out the top half and having an open face sandwich.  Along with 100 calorie pack baked Cheetos, my zero point Mexican soup and baby carrots with ranch dressing.

421 calories, 17 fat, 24 protein, 41 carbs and 3.9 fiber

with half the pita: 421 calories, 17 fat, 24 protein, 41 carbs and 3.9 fiber

But then about 3:30, I got totally hungry, so I reached into my goodie drawer and had this:

190 calories

190 calories

This morning while I was getting for work, I put three chicken breasts in a pot of water, turned it on high and took a shower.  When I came back (about 10 minutes later) the water was really boiling!  I took it off the heat and let it sit in the hot water for about 20 minutes.  Then I put it in a ziploc bag and stuck it in the fridge til tonight.

after I chopped them into bite size pieces, I sprinkled with pepper and a bit of seasoning salt

after I chopped them into bite size pieces, I sprinkled with pepper and a bit of seasoning salt

Here’s the broccoli cheese layer (recipe will be below!):

this is half of the cheese broccoli mixture

this is half of the cheese broccoli mixture

Then add the diced chicken as the second layer:

then put the rest of the broccoli cheese mixture on top - then sprinkle 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

then put the rest of the broccoli cheese mixture on top - then sprinkle 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

Then here’s how its looked after its baked!

p1050004-640x480

I served mine over two ounces of cooked egg noodles.  I can never figure out the carbs/calories because on the package it has the stats for uncooked.  I realized afterward that I probably could have had a little bit more noodles.  Oh well!

I ended up adding crushed red pepper to mine at the table!

I ended up adding crushed red pepper to mine at the table!

And I had a side salad:

p1050008-640x480

Chicken Divan (from the Eating Well Diet Cookbook)

  • 1.5 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 1 tablespoon exra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 cups diced leek (yuk!  left this out, but you can add it if you like!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • One 14 ounce can chicken broth
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 2 tablespoons dry sherry (again, yuk, but add it if you like!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • 10 ounces fresh broccoli, cooked (I precooked mine in my microwave)
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1/4 cup light mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons dijon mustard
  1. Poach chicken breasts, it takes about 10 to 12 minutes.  Drain and slice into bite-sized pieces.
  2. Preheat oven to 375.
  3. Heat oil in  large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add leak and salt and cook, stirring often, until softened but not browned, 3 to 4 minutes.  Add flour; stir to coat.  Add broth, milk, sherry, Italian seasoning and pepper and bring to a simmer, stirring constantly.  Add broccoli and return to simmer.  Remove from heat and stir in 1/2 cup grated parmesan, mayonnaise and mustard.
  4. Spread half the broccli mixture in the prepared baking dish.  Top with the chicken, then the remaining broccoli mixture.  Sprinkle evenly with the remaining 1/2 cup paremsan cheese.  Bake until bubbling, 20 to 25 miutes.  Let cook for 10 minutes before serving.

I ended up doing the last 5 minutes under the broiler to melt the parmesan cheese a bit better.  This one is a keeper!  Not only because it tastes great, but each 1 1/3 cup serving (very generious!) comes in at:

  • 312 calories
  • 11 grams fat
  • 19 grams carbs
  • 35 grams protein
  • 4 grams of fiber

Nutrition Bonus: 70% of vitamin C, 35% of vitamin A, 30% calcium, and 19% folate)

Stats for the Day:

  • 1364 calories (my daily goal is 1450, so I have a 90 calorie snack coming tonight!)
  • 47 grams of fat
  • 89 grams protein
  • 143 grams carbs
  • 14 grams fiber

Exercise:

  • 35 minute elliptical
  • 15 minute walk with the dog

And I drank 60 ounces of water today!  Um, I guess you can tell you are dehydrated when you drink 40 ounces of water and never go to the bathroom!

After putting my stats in calorieking.com, it said “too much fat for the day!”  Oh well, I think its a great start!

See you tomorrow!

 

18 thoughts on “Chicken Divan

  1. Sounds like a great day! I’ll have to try that chicken recipe, it looks delicious.

  2. What a fabulous recipe!

  3. That chicken bake looks great! Yum!

  4. Yum! The chicken recipe sounds great!

    I hate pitas that don’t open!

  5. The chicken bake recipe looks fabulous – can’t wait to try that out this week.

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. I’m glad this is online so you can’t see the drool running from the corners of my mouth 🙂

    That looks amazing!! You are such an inspiring cook. A woman who really does it all!

    I am gonna start taking notes now so in a few years I can hope to do half the things you seem to be able to accomplish in a day!

  7. You weren’t able to get the pockets opened? Eeek, weird!
    But overall, you had a delicious, tasty, scrumptious day!

  8. You are doing well. Keep sticking to it.

  9. Oooh I have such a weak spot for that noodle soup. Everything looks delicious. Do you think the chicken divan would be good over rice?!

  10. came across your blog via Lori’s, saw you posted a message about a 35 minute treadmill workout with doing hills etc.. I would be interested in this workout if you would care to share!

  11. lol that is one of my biggest pet peeves in regards to pita. Unless they’re SUPER fresh they’re next to impossible to actually open and stuff for a sandwich. [in my experience anyways]. One of these days I’m going to try making pita at home.

    Anyways, that Chicken Divan? This is the first time I’ve seen it and I’m for sure stealing this recipe. I LOVE brocoli and the whole thing just looks super tasty, thanks!!

  12. Looks good … and looks like something my husband would eat too 😉

    Congrats on getting the excercise in … something I need to do more of. But yesterday was a “work all day, come home and work from home” kind of day 🙂

    And tomorrow I get to sit in the car for 10+ hours driving younger son back to college, so no excercise there either.

    I need to sneak some time somewhere to get my body moving.

    And drink more water … thank you for the reminder!

  13. Nice job. I think I will give that recipe a try as well.

  14. Your chicken divan looks divine!!!

    You did a great job today!

  15. We eat chicken divan all the time! It also tastes great with brown rice mixed in before you bake (if you wanted something other than noodles).

  16. Somebody necessarily lend a hand to make critically posts I
    would state. This is the very first time I frequented your
    website page and up to now? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this particular post extraordinary.
    Great task!

  17. What’s up everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web page, and paragraph
    is genuinely fruitful in support of me, keep up posting such articles or reviews.

  18. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand
    out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Bless you

Leave a comment