My Spicy Zero Point Mexican Soup

When my sister and I first lost our weight (I lost 70 pounds – and kept that off for 7 years . . .um, 35 pounds may have crept back??!!) – Weight Watchers Zero Point Soup was a staple.  A year ago they came out with a zero point Mexican soup and a zero point Italian soup.  I decided to make a zero point Mexican soup for this week.

Spicy Zero Point Mexican Soup

  • 64 ounces vegetable broth
  • 2 cups frozen green beans
  • 4 ounce (1 small) zucchini, chopped
  • 1 whole jalapeno, seeds removed, chopped
  • 14 ounce Mexican tomatoes
  • 3 cloves of minced garlic
  • 1 small green pepper, chopped
  • 1 small red pepper, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 teaspoons taco seasoning
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • juice of 1/2 lime

Put vegetable broth in pot.  Throw in the rest of the ingredients and cook until the green beans and peppers are tender, about 30 minutes.  Remove from heat, and puree with stick blender.  I serve with a pinch of cheddar cheese, fresh cilantro and a quick splash of lime – yum!

these are the spicy tomatoes I used - they sell them in my dollar store for .50 cents a can!

these are the spicy tomatoes I used - they sell them in my dollar store for .50 cents a can!

p1040002-640x480

Here’s how it looks after its simmer for 30 minutes.

p1040005-1-640x480

It makes 14 cups!

p1040006-1-640x480

without the cheese, each one cup serving is 33 calories, .4 fat, 8.4 carbs, 1.1 protein and 1.5 fiber!

without the cheese, each one cup serving is 33 calories, .4 fat, 8.4 carbs, 1.1 protein and 1.5 fiber!

In the past I used to have a cup of this with lunch and a cup with dinner – and I plan on doing it this week too.

See you tonight for Chili!

18 thoughts on “My Spicy Zero Point Mexican Soup

  1. 14 cups of soup?? i don’t think i have a pot that big 🙂

  2. zero points? wow- thats pretty crazy! Sounds good though. Was it filling?

  3. Sounds great! The spicier the better 😉

  4. This sounds awesome and I love that it has zero points.

  5. You inspired me, Biz! I’ve got a potful simmering on the stove. I improvised a little: grilled the peppers and zuccini, omitted the cilantro 😦 but husband hates cilantro, and added some obscure spices (ground clove, tumeric, and saffron; that helped cut the tomato-ey taste) and added more of the spices I like. It’s *very* spicy, which I love. Thanks for getting me out of the green salad rut. 🙂

  6. I am going to make this too!

  7. Hmmm… that looks pretty yummy!

  8. […] then I found a package of my zero point Mexican soup! I added 2 ounces of chicken to it, so it became a 2 point soup! 516 calories, 59 carbs, 29 protein, […]

  9. Oh, that looks like a great meal addition. I love tex-mex stuff, but the DH and I have different spice-tolerance levels (his = HIGH, mine = low. Sadly, I’m the Texan and he’s a damn yankee, but that’s the way it worked out), so I’ll probably make up a batch and then add hot sauce to his half of it. 🙂 Now I just need to get a stick blender.

  10. Fantastic photo!

  11. […] I know they aren’t zero point now, but I would make a big batch of zero point soup and I’d take 3 cups to work every day.  If I felt the urge to get something out of the vending machine, or food court, I’d heat up a cup of soup at a time.  I’d even heat up a cup while I was making dinner, so that I didn’t nibble while I cooked.  Here is my almost zero point Spicy Mexican Soup.  […]

  12. Out of curiosity, I put the stats into my PointsPlus calculator and the serving comes to one point. It looks like an excellent fill you up kind of food and healthy too. Thanks for the recipe.

  13. It looks soooo flavorful and I just may add it to my rotation. I have all but the freshest (zucchiini, peppers and cilantro) in my pantry/fridge right now.

  14. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come
    back in the future. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job,
    have a nice day!

  15. I made this and really liked it. Even for my tastes naturally geared towards more spicy foods, I found it had plenty of heat and lots of “re-eatability” (I won’t get sick of it). I could totally see myself adding some grilled chicken to this and making it a meal unto itself.

    Is the cilantro and lime meant to be added into the pot, or are they listed only as possible garnishments added at the time of serving–or both? I interpreted them as garnish items and didn’t add them to the pot (actually, I didn’t add them after, either–ha!)

Leave a comment