Chicago-Style Italian Roast Beef

I adapted a recipe from Cook’s Country, only due to the size of our roast, which was 3 pounds.

  • 3 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 3 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 3 teaspoons Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 3-pound sirloin roast, fat trimmed (mine already was trimmed)
  • 2 tablespoons oil, divided
  • 1 onion, chopped fine (not!)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 2 cups low-sodium beef broth (oops, mine is regular – hope it isn’t too salty!)
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth (again, regular!)
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (while I heart red pepper flakes, Tony doesn’t like them, so I just put a small pinch in)
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Heat your oven to 300 degrees.  Combine garlic powder, Italian seasoning, oregano and pepper in a small bowl.

Pat roast dry with a paper towel – make sure its good and dry.  Heat 1 tablespoon of the oil in a dutch oven to medium-high heat and sear the meat on all the sides.  It will take about 10 minutes total.

Add onion (you know the drill – not!) to fat in skillet and cook over medium heat until soft, about 5 minutes.  Stir in garlic, flour, and 1 teaspooon of the spice mixture until fragrant, about 1 minute.  Now stir in all the liquids and using a wooden spoon, scrape up all the bits on the bottom of the pan.  Bring to a boil, then pour into roasting pan.

Stir remaining oil, pepper flakes, and salt to remaining spice mxture.  Rub mixture all over the meat and roast until meat registers 125 degrees.  Remove and tent with foil for 20 minutes.  Now the reason for adding oil to the rub mixture is to prevent the herbs from burning while in the oven.

Pour the jus from the roasting pan through a strainer and serve along side sliced roast beef.

here's applying the dry rub after searing the meat

here’s applying the dry rub after searing the meat

Just out of the oven, ready for its 20 minute rest

Just out of the oven, ready for its 20 minute rest

perfect medium rare!

perfect medium rare!

Which will make the perfect cheezy beef sandwiches later this week:

just hanging out in the leftover jus - which I thought might be too salty, but its not - whew!

just hanging out in the leftover jus – which I thought might be too salty, but its not – whew!

Okay, so earlier today Tony and I were watching the F word – a show on the BBC channel.  In that episode, Gordon Ramsey has a cook off and they are making cheesecake.  I always thought cheesecake was a refrigerator cake, but Tony disagreed and said that they are always baked!   So I’d like to take a poll:

Tonight is the last night to comment on my giveaway!   The winner will be announced in the morning.  I am off to watch Biggest Loser!  (and American Idol.  Oh, and Chopped on FoodTV!)

34 thoughts on “Chicago-Style Italian Roast Beef

  1. Hey thanks for the tip! I usually do eat eggs.. Do you think I should up it to 2 eggs for more protein .. or 1 egg and 1 egg white because I always have a long morning I need somethign to hold me over til lunch..

    I love the biggest loser.. who is your favorite?

  2. That looks absolutely fantastic!! Now, figure out how to mimic the Portillo’s Chopped Salad and you’ll be my BFF 🙂

  3. Yum, that meat came out perfectly!!! I love beef sandwiches since moving here! Tony Bourdain should have eaten one of those, come to think of it! Although, I can do without the dunking of the bread in the juice – sometimes it’s a little too soggy by the time you get home and unwrap it.

    I’ve always made my own cheesecake, so I know the answer. Otherwise, I think I’d have no idea! I think there are plenty of versions that call for either method – but usually the no-bake ones are the “shortcut” versions, whereas the baked ones are a longer, more made-from-scratch process.

  4. Oh my gosh that roast beef looks amazing! I love when my mom makes roast beef I’m always at her door as soon as I hear she’s making it.

  5. the only reason I know it’s baked is because I’ve made cheesecake before! =]

  6. Lovely roast beef!

    I have heard of both…baked cheesecake and no bake refrigerated cheesecake!

  7. You can get the Jell-O cheesecake mixes, which are glorified pudding in a shell…but I like the baked ones so much better.

  8. Oh my gosh, that looks oh-so juicy and full of flavor!!!

  9. WOW! I love your blog. My first time here. It’s wonderful. GREAT-GREAT-eating ideas.
    Love Napolean Dynamite along with American Idol.

    Have a good day.

  10. That looks just scrumptious! Can I have some leftovers? 😛

  11. Other than being a little too pink for me it looks great.

    • You’ve got it in one. Cond’ult have put it better.

    • It looks like my pet human forgot to post MY furry pctiure on the family website. I think my lovely human should register at Petsmart or Orvis. Two paws up for LL Bean too. I’m going to try to do it myself if I can figure out how. The computer keys are not big enough for me. I could use some new stuff, big stuff, I’m a big doggie. I didn’t get an e-save-the-date. Woof! Don’t you all think I should be invited? Let my family know! Licks & Sniffs, erikarlneko family

  12. Yum meeeat 😀 Just reading your post title made me say “Shi-cah-go” out loud haha…I went to USC and it was mostly all Cali kids but a select few and proud from Chicago and I love their accents!

  13. I am a cheesecake baking master ( just ask my mom). I have baked many a cheesecake over the years. I have also made some no-bake cheesecakes, but I’m not as big a fan, plus I’ve had one not set, so we were eating cheesecake soup.

    The roast looks excellent!

  14. Thanks for visiting!!!! I am browsing all these wonderful dishes you have on here!!

  15. Your meat always looks perfectly cookied…I love it a little pink in the middle.

  16. Interesting… I would a have thought it just depends on the cheesecake recipe.

    I’ve made both.

    Did someone set the rules to say a cheesecake must be baked?

  17. That roast look fantastic. I need the recipe! I have to look up that magazine. The recipes are great!
    Tony better know cheesecake is baked – or he wasn’t paying attention!

  18. Yummm cheesecake – now that’s all I can think about 😉

  19. The roast beef looks so good. We used to eat beef 4-5 times a week, now we’re down to once every other week. How I miss it!
    BTW, I’ve passed on two blogger awards to you. Go to my site (judyskitchen.blogspot.com) for info.

  20. I am such a meat and potatoes kind of girl (to say nothing of cheesecake!) I just ate lunch but these pictures are making me hungry. Pathetic…

    • Gabb – That is fantastic! Had me lnhugiag out loud Its a fine display of artistic expression on the brink of instability Where can I learn to dance like that and grin at the same time?

    • This shows real expertise. Thanks for the answer.

    • Kenneth Cole New York Men’s Nylon Waister with Rib Trim says:read this story.I just recently got an order from NFR Natural Beef, and I’m plseaed to say that their plastic wraps are watertight (and bloodtight as well, of course). They had a two-for-one sale on chuck roasts and man, what roasts! Lean, boneless, tasty beef. I also have some oxtails and beef shank sections that I’ll be braising soon.]]>

  21. Mine fave meal if you will that I don’t have to cook is beef jerky I am a jerky fanatic thgouh. My second favorite would probably be trail mix. Not anyone in particular because I like to mix it up no pun intended lol +4

  22. When i dip you dip we dip hell yeah lets take a flip , boy u need yo ass whipped ahaa ! i swear im like the bggseit fan of john john and mr,grindd smoochess !

  23. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I
    get three emails with the same comment. Is there any way
    you can remove people from that service? Thanks!

  24. Your blog site is just one of my favorite features for useful tips. Thanks for sharing

Leave a comment