So the wait begins. . .

So Tony’s doctor appointment went as well as we could have expected.  Now we wait three more weeks (without antibiotics) and then he goes back.  They will take fluid from his knee and make sure the infection is gone.  We have a standing date at the end of March to have his knee replaced, so fingers crossed everything works out! 

So no pics of breakfast or lunch – pretty uneventful.  I had an english muffin for breakfast and for lunch I packed sandwiches for us – mine was a buffalo chicken pita with pretzels on the side and a diet Mr. Pibb.  We actually ate lunch on the car ride home from the doctor!

But, as we were driving home I remembered that there was a place by my office that has THE MOST AMAZING popcorn in the world.   I decided we deserved a treat!  Its a sub shop, but right next to it is an old fashioned movie theater that only plays one movie at a time.  You can buy your popcorn (and sandwiches as big as your head) and bring them to the movie.

The best combo ever:  cheese popcorn with caramel corn.  1 ounce serving is 140 calories and 7 grams of fat, but so worth it!

heaven in a dish

heaven in a dish

So Brandi picked spinach as the BSI ingredient this week.  Luckily I had spinach lasagna on the menu – only on half though because Tony doesn’t like it!   It should be interesting.  I didn’t really follow a recipe (yikes!).  I added diced tomatoes to the remainder of my Italian Sunday Gravy and then pureed it all together for my sauce layer.  Then it was a 15 ounce carton of fat free ricotta mixed with1/2  cup egg whites, Italian seasoning and minced garlic.  The top is a combo of mozzarella and fresh shredded parmesan cheese. 

 I use no bake noodles which saves a ton of time.  Then bake at 350 for 45 minutes.  If the cheese isn’t browned, I usually pop it under the broiler for a few minutes.

fresh spinach on half

fresh spinach on half

All together before hitting the oven:

Now I can't wait for dinner!

Now I can't wait for dinner!

And Judy from Judy’s Kitchen  bestowed two awards to me!  Thanks Judy, that was so sweet!

 I need to pass on the awards to deserving bloggers – check back later to see who I pick!

Off to clean up my mess from making lasagna – the finished pics will be up tonight!

13 thoughts on “So the wait begins. . .

  1. Glad to hear the appointment went well – congrats on the award!! Lasagna sounds yummy. Its cold here in MN so that would be good to have, fill me up from the inside & keep me warm!

  2. congrats on the appt and the awards! spinach is one of my favorites (surprisingly!) – excellent BSI choice =)

  3. Oooh it’s snack time. Bring on that popcorn!

  4. We were thinking alike today… I was going to make the same exact thing!

    Your popcorn looks awesome, I love mixing cheese and caramel. I used to take those popcorn tins and pull out the divider and shake it up!

  5. I’m hoping for the best!!

    Hooray for BSI and for your award!! 🙂

  6. You do deserve that treat! Sounds like things have been busy for you! I hope it calms down and you get a chance to relax! I love anything with spinach in it, and your lasagna looks especially tasty!

  7. Glad to hear everything is going well with Tony’s knee!!

    Congrats on your awards 🙂

  8. I have never had those 2 flavors of popcorn together. Sounds tasty.

    Hope everything goes well with Tony’s knee.

    Congrats on the awards!

  9. I hope Tony starts feeling better soon, I so love to eat those 2 combo’s together.

  10. […] Biz, from the Biggest Diabetic Loser: Spinach Lasagna […]

  11. OMG that popcorn lloks awesome…wow, now I’m going to rummage through the cupboard for something!

  12. Aw congrats on the award! Am all over that popcorn.

  13. Is that popcorn store in downtown Barrington. Great sandwiches and popcorn while you watch the movie.
    The Catlow – is that the name? But can’t recall the name of the deli.

Leave a comment