Best Oven Fries Ever!

Okay, I really believe I have redeemed myself with the oven fries!  Sure enough, good old Cook’s Illustrated gave me the best results!

  • 3 russet potatoes (about 8 ounces each), cut into even size pieces (I left the skin on)
  • 5 tablespoons peanut oil (divided)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Adjust oven rack to lowest position; heat oven to 475 degrees.  Place potatoes in large bowl and cover with tap water; soak for 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, coat a large nonstick baking sheet with 4 tablespoons oil, and sprinkle the sheet evenly with 3/4 tablespoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.

Drain the potatoes on paper towels and pat dry.  Toss potatoes with 1 tablespoon olive oil and arange potatoes on a single layer on prepared baking sheet.  Cover tightly with foil and bake for 5 minutes.  Remove foil and continue to bake for 15 to 20 minutes, rotating baking sheet after 10 minutes.  Using tongs, flip the potatoes and cook for another 10 minutes, until fries are golden and crisp.

Transfer fries to paper towels to drain and sprinkle with salt. 

DELISH!

DELISH!

So I used the leftover roast beef  from the other night (with jus!), so my plate was 1 ounce of french bread, 1 ounce mozzarella cheese, 2 ounces of roast beef, 2.5 ounces of fries, 1 ear of corn (so good!) and a side of jus for dipping.   Since the fries were essentially cooked in oil, I used McDonald’s fries in www. calorieking.com.  (Although there was a good 2 tablespoons of oil left in the pan!)

Approximately 587 calories, 22 fat and 65 carbs

Approximately 587 calories, 22 fat and 65 carbs

Of course, no Italian beef would be complete without Giardiniera!

Next to Tabasco sauce, probably the best thing ever invented!

Next to Tabasco sauce, probably the best thing ever invented!

The Office was so good tonight!  Can’t wait to see what happens!  Off to clean the kitchen, it doesn’t matter how simple a meal is, I still manage to make a complete mess!  See you tomorrow!

34 thoughts on “Best Oven Fries Ever!

  1. YUM! Have a great night!

  2. omg those fries… i want one now!

  3. Those look amazing! I wonder if you could do something similar with sweet potatoes. I might try it this week and let you know how it goes!

  4. YUMMO..the fries do look delish!

  5. They look delicious!!! I’m sure they were so crispy!

  6. I love the Office, too! The Superbowl episode was FANTASTIC, so I was really looking fwd to tonight – it didn’t dissapoint.

  7. Those are some awesome looking fries!

  8. Oh my gosh, those fries are amazing!!

  9. I definitely have to make these for Bobby – he’s been asking for fries.

  10. Oh my goodness. I’m waiting for my dinner to cook… and all I can think about is your delish looking meal here! YUM!

  11. The oven fries look delicious! I’ll have to try them.

  12. Looks yummy…

    Here in Indonesia, I think there’s only one brand being sold for tabasco, the small bottle with red lead (can’t remember the name now)

  13. Yummy looking fries!! Ahh tabasco…

  14. the fries look great! on a side note – I remember your poll about cheesecake, I just posted my cheesecake recipe on my blog if you are interested in learning about how its made and baked.

  15. those fries look amazing!!!!!!!!!! i find myself craving things like this every so often. my roommate cooks a lot of things like this luckily but i’m generally too impatient to take the time. i should work on that.

  16. amazing fries!!! are they really made in oven? they look so delicious!!!

  17. The Office WAS good – I can’t wait for the to be continued to be well…continued 🙂

    Love the fries!!

  18. Those fries look good, really crispy!
    I haven’t watched the office yet, but I will tonight I’m so excited.

  19. Could you fax me some of those yummy taters?

  20. I will have to try that method, they look fab!

  21. nice looking Fries!!! i’ll be making those this weekend!

  22. You are my new personal hero…Fries I can EAT!!

    I now love you.

  23. Yay, your fries look great. I am glad you were able to redeem yourself because oven baked fried are so good.

  24. wow – those fries look incredible. Wish I could grab a few out of my screen! 😉

  25. Those are the yummiest looking baked fries I’ve ever seen! I am going to try them this week 🙂

  26. I will immediately grasp your rss as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me recognize in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  27. Good day! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for
    the great data you¡¦ve got here on this post. I might be coming again to your
    blog for more soon.

  28. […] used my tried and true oven fries tonight, but experimented and only used 1 tablespoon of oil and they turned out fine – that way I […]

Leave a comment