BSI – Potatoes! Red White and Blue Potato Salad!

Even though I am South Beach and no potatoes are allowed, my mom was over so I decided to use up the rest of my purple potatoes to make a red white and blue potato salad – red (red pepper) white (egg whites) and blue (purple potatoes)!.

I know they are purple, but they look blue!

I know they are purple, but they look blue!

I don't like mayo, so I used 1/3 cup of this dressing

I don't like mayo, so I used 1/3 cup of this dressing

I did have a bit - it was good! :D

I did have a bit - it was good! 😀

Red White and Blue Potato Salad

  • 1 pound purple potatoes
  • 1 hard boiled egg, diced
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/3 salad dressing (your choice)

Mix and let sit in the fridge for at least a few hours.  Check out our host this week for the other participants – he’s going on vacation with his family so is deciding a day early this week! 

Quick post, my mom is over and I need to play hostess!  See you tomorrow! 😀

6 thoughts on “BSI – Potatoes! Red White and Blue Potato Salad!

  1. Well I consider potato a good starch, lots of fiber! The dish sounds amazing. I’ll have to try out purple potatoes one of these days, I’ve seen a coupe posts about them lately!

    Have a Happy Fourth

  2. Great idea! It turned out so pretty, adn festive!

  3. Certainly no beachy, but definitely tasty I am sure. Looks great!

  4. You know what’s interesting – I just read that cold potatoes with something acidic like vinegar are actually NOT considered a starch – unlike warm potatoes. I wonder if that means you can eat them on SBD?

  5. Very pretty! I never even seen purple potatoes before!

  6. Great for the 4th…happy day to you!

Leave a comment