BSI – Lime! Beef and Black Bean Empanadas with Cilantro-Lime Dip

My Kitchen Addiction is the host for this weeks BSI – Lime!  I was glad that I was able to submit an entry – its been a few weeks since I have!

I utilized lime in both my filling and in the sauce – zest went into the beef and bean mixture, and the juice of a whole lime went into the dip.  The dip turned out AMAZING!  Very bright!

Cilantro-Lime Dip

  • 1 six ounce container of Oikos (just happened to be the brand I picked up) plain Greek yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
  • juice of one lime
  • 1 tablespoon taco seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon juice from pickled jalapenos
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • a pinch of Splenda (it was too tart without it!)

Mix together and let chill for at least 30 minutes.

P8090013

P8090014

For the empanadas, I made this bread dough, except I used whole wheat white – King Arthur brand.  Each empanada was 1.5 ounces of dough, a generous tablespoon of filling.  My kitchen was hot, so I had to put my empanadas in the freezer 5 minutes before deep frying them.

Beef and Bean Filling

  • 10 ounces of ground beef, cooked
  • 1 cup canned black beans that have been rinsed
  • 1 tablespoon taco seasoning
  • zest of one lime
  • 2 tablespoons fresh chopped cilantro
  • 3 ounces queso fresco cheese

P8090020

P8090021

If I were making these just for me, I definitely would have put chopped pickled jalapenos in here!  I rolled out the dough and using water sealed the edges.

P8090026

Then I put them on my cookie sheet, and used a fork to really make sure they were sealed – I didn’t want to lose any filling!

P8090028

Then into the deep fryer for 2 minutes a side.  I served them with the dipping sauce on the side for dunking.

P8090035

P8090038

These were crunchy and doughy at the same time – a perfect combination in my book!  I may have tried everything on a chip – and that was delicious too!

P8090029

This is definitely a keeper!  Tony and I went to the store together, and I ended up going over my budget by $16.  Oh well!  I guess $141 for the week isn’t bad, and I’ll still have meat leftover for next week, so maybe I’ll be under next week and it will be a wash.  Look at all the dried chile’s my store has!  I needed dried pasilla peppers for my Rick Bayless soup I am just about to put together for my lunch this week.

P8090001 

P8090002

P8090010

Alright – I have to finish this post so I can submit this recipe!  Off to make my soup and then clean the kitchen.  I think Hannah’s had mild heart attacks walking by and seeing all of my mess!  

See you tomorrow! 😀

11 thoughts on “BSI – Lime! Beef and Black Bean Empanadas with Cilantro-Lime Dip

  1. These look fantastic! Thanks for submitting for this week’s BSI! I am going to have a really tough time picking a winner because all of the recipes are so great. I love that you used the oikos yogurt in the dip – one of my favorites!

  2. Mm! I’m loving that Cilantro-Lime Dip!! And the empanadas look great…I can imagine just dipping that hot crusty thing into the cool sauce!

  3. That cilantro-lime dip sounds fantastic!

  4. That cilantro lime dip sounds amazing! Great recipe – I hope it wins 😀

  5. That looks so good! And the dip sounds like it would be so refreshing.

  6. aw thank you very much!! your blog is amazing…i just was checking out all of your recipes- each picture looks mouth-watering!

  7. Oh my goodness this all looks delicious!! I really like the addition of lime. It’s such a fresh, tasty ingredient.

  8. Empanadas! My mom never makes them because she says they take forever to make. I have a friend from Argentina and he use to run a bakery (he was 19 at the time..CRAZY), and he would make me spinach and cheese ones. And since he was from Argentina they were baked instead. Now I want some 😀

    p.s. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Matilda sometimes gets a little attitude with some dogs though hehe

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  9. Those empanadas look fantastic! I tried making empanadas once and I’ve decided that dough and I are just not friends haha. I wonder if i could do this as an empanada PIE. hehe

  10. The empanadas look really good especially with the delightful cilantro-lime dip! These would be terrific party appetizers!

  11. […] Biggest Diabetic Loser – Beef and Black Bean Empanadas with Cilantro-Lime Dip […]

Leave a comment