BSI – Figs! Prosciutto Purses Stuffed with Balsamic Fig Goat Cheese

Today feels more like October than the end of August!  Although I love this weather – it always reminds me of field hockey season when it gets chilly outside!  Sadly, no one plays anywhere near where I live so I only see random games on t.v. every once in a while!

I used the last of our steak last night and made steak breakfast sammies for me and Tony. 

P8290004

Then Tony and I made our last trip to the CSA farm.  We both agreed we would much rather hit up our local farmers market – that way we get what we want and in the amounts we want.  Seriously, the last three weeks we were limited to just 2 ears of corn!  Really??  So in 8 weeks of CSA I got 6 ears of corn, maybe a pound of broccoli, 2 pounds of zucchini and probably 6 pounds of tomatoes and a bunch of little stuff.  I will miss the sweet dog who greeted us every week!

P8290007

I was not kidding when I said we had a garden growing in our gutters!  And we just cleaned these out about a month ago!  I was brave and got on the roof for the clean up.  Sadly I threw our hose down on the drive from the roof and the nozzle shattered to pieces!  Oops!  And the funny thing is that I kill almost every plant that comes in my house – instead of a green thumb I have a black thumb!

P8290008

I didn’t realize Tony was taking pics!

P8290010

After the roof cleaning and lunch, Hannah and I went to the store to pick up the last needed things for my SIL birthday party at our house tomorrow. 

The Menu!

  • Chicago style bbq ribs
  • Baked potato bar with sour cream, bacon bits, chopped green onion and whipped butter
  • Fresh corn and black bean salad
  • Garlic green beans
  • Insalata Caprese (fresh mozzarella with CSA tomatoes and basil)

Dessert:  Spiced Carrot Cake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

My mouth just watered when I typed that – this is definitely NOT a low cal dessert, it calls for 1 1/2 cups of vegetable oil – but damn, its really good!

For appetizers I decided to tie in the BSI challenge this week to include figs.  This weeks hostess is Elizabeth from Guilty Kitchen.  I was too scared to even attempt to do anything with fresh figs.  I think the only fig I’ve had before today was a Fig Newton!  I bought a package of dried figs – only $2.79 for this ring!

P8290016

I cut the stem off and opened it up.  Looks like the inside of a Fig Newton! 😀

P8290017

I chopped up 6 figs and then added 1 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil and salt and pepper.  I let it sit to kind of rehydrate the dried fig. 

P8290018

Next I added goat cheese – by far my favorite cheese out there!  This one is a garlic herb blend. 

P8290020

Then I placed a slice of prosciutto de parma on my board, and added about a teaspoon of the goat cheese mixture then wrapped it up like a purse.

P8290021

I have green onions for our baked potato bar tomorrow, and thought to blanch some of the stems to wrap up my cute little packages!

P8290022

All wrapped up!  I love the combination of the sour creaminess of the goat cheese with the salt from the prosciutto and slight sweet from the fig.

P8290023

And then I hit “focus” on my photo editing software (Picasa) and it only colored in the green onion.  I thought it looked cool!

P8290028

Dinner was simple – I had ground beef I needed to use up and Hannah felt like pasta – so pasta and meatballs it is!  The secret to a great meatball is to get a good crust on the outside, then let it simmer in the pasta sauce until cooked through.

Italian Meatballs

  • 1 pound ground chuck
  • 1/2 cup Italian style bread crumbs
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper

I pan fry my in a combination of Pam, 1 teaspoon olive oil and 1 tablespoon of butter.  This mix makes 8 big balls (that’s what she said!) and 8 meatballs a little bit bigger than marble size.

P8290005-1

Let them set before moving them around, otherwise they fall apart.  Keep turning until all sides have a crispy crust.

P8290006-1

This sauce is one I made last week – it has an orange hint to it because I made the sauce from both red and yellow tomatoes.  Just let the meatballs cook while the pasta cooks – it only takes about 20 minutes for these size meatballs to continue cooking in the sauce.

P8290008-1

My plate – 3 meatballs, sauce, 1/2 ounce mozzarella cheese and a cup of pasta.  I did kick my plate up with crushed red pepper flakes though! 😀

P8290010-1

Hope everyone had a great Saturday!  I think Tony is going to watch some fights on t.v. so Hannah and I will probably rent The Soloist – never saw it when it came out in the theater!  See you tomorrow!

24 thoughts on “BSI – Figs! Prosciutto Purses Stuffed with Balsamic Fig Goat Cheese

  1. That dog looks a lot like Mckinley!

    Doesn’t seem like your CSA was that awesome, that’s too bad!

  2. OMG!! Those meatballs look so delish!! I am a huge meatball fan and there’s nothing more comforting than a plate of hot pasta, rich tomato sauce and home-made meatballs…:) Thanks for sharing and take care. All the best.

    Lyle

  3. Ooops…I realized I used the wrong comment info…just in case you were wondering who I was…:)

    Lyle

  4. First of all, how superwoman are you, up on the roof?!? You look great, btw!

    Those goat cheese/fig/prosciutto appetizers look so good! My mouth is watering!

  5. Those appys look great! And good for you for brnaching out and using an ingredient you’ve never tried before! Awesome!

  6. Goat cheese, figs, and prosciutto? Sounds beyond delicious. I’ve had dates stuffed with goat cheese and wrapped in prosciutto before, and that was good, so I know this would be as well.

  7. You are one brave lady to get on the roof, I am afraid of heights. I am not doing CSA because half the stuff they would probably give me my family does not like. I like free style shopping.

  8. It felt like October here as well! This weather is crazy but I’m not complaining, I love October 😉

    I can’t wait to see your dessert because it sounds absolutely delicious! Have a great Sunday!!

  9. wowsa–proscuitto, figs and goat cheese! yum 🙂

  10. You are a busy busy girl.

  11. Oh I can’t wait to hear what you thought of the Soloist. i have not seen it yet, but really want to.

    The fig looks so great, I used to eat Fig Newtons ALL THE TIME! Memories of my childhood are creeping up on me. I love the yellow sauce with the meatballs…I was so confused when I first saw it! I’ve never thought about making sauce with yellow tomatoes, but why not?! I love a good ITalian meatball, they look delicious.

  12. MMM love the goat cheese and figs!! They look amazing!! I am with you on this weather! A little too cold too early!!

  13. I love your prosciutto purses! They look so elegant and sound delicious… Great idea!

  14. oooh love this post!! Those purses are awesome and i’m seriously considering making spaghetti and meatballs for lunch now….. I have all of those ingredients… yes! I’ll do it and link back to you – i’m so excited! And your menu sounds amazing – love the idea of a baked potato bar.

  15. What a great assortment of delicious things…the fig, goat cheese and prosciutto appetizers look fantastic!

  16. WOW, everything looks so great Biz!

    I love the pasta sauce. I’ve never used yellow tomatoes ever!

    And I want the prosciutto fig goat cheese purse!

    That’s thinking outside the box!

  17. WOW, everything looks so great Biz!

    I love the pasta sauce. I’ve never used yellow tomatoes ever!

    And I want the prosciutto fig goat cheese purse!

    That’s thinking outside the box!
    Oops, should have mentioned good post! Waiting for the next one!

  18. Judging by the condition of those shingles next to the gutters, you may wish to consider budgeting for a new roof 🙂

  19. The prosciutto purses looks sinfully delicious. I usually use fresh figs but I think I’m going to go with your option for a more “put-together” / less runny appetizer. Thanks for sharing!

  20. What an appetizing menu you had there! That’s funny how you said where you’re at feels more like October. Where I’m at (Southern Cal), it feels more like July! It’s triple digit temperature right now. Ugh, it is not pretty out there.

  21. Your CSA doesn’t sound that good! 😦 I was too late for ours this year, but I’m still on the email list and they’ve been getting TONS of stuff. They were limited on the corn, too – but the rest of the items sounded so great.

    I bought fresh figs, but only found them last night, so too late for the BSI. haha I’ll just eat them 🙂

  22. yummmmm.. meatballs!! i love italian meatballs!

    um, whats up with the CSA? bad crops this year?? good thing you went to the farmers market..

  23. […] once made proscuitto purses stuffed with balsamic fig goat cheese – I need to make these again […]

Leave a comment