Beautiful Day and BSI – Chickpeas!

What a beautiful day it was today!  I enjoyed it because I think fall is about to bestow upon us this coming week!  Since we went out to breakfast yesterday, today was at home Mama Rini’s!  One fried egg, 1 piece of bacon, 1 ounce of bagel, 1 tsp. light cream cheese, 3 ounces of frozen hash browns, 1/2 tsp. vegetable oil the potatoes fried in, and 1 kiwi.

P9270095

The boys first football snack was Steak Tartar.  Beware if you make this, you need to get the meat at a good butcher!  This is our butcher’s 99% lean ground sirloin.

P9270096

This is one pound.  You add chopped anchovies, minced garlic, 1 egg, lots of pepper and salt – they ate it on good rye bread.  (Gross!)

At the library yesterday, I finally was able to pick up the Biggest Loser Bootcamp DVD – its usually always checked out.  I ended up doing 30 minutes of it – I liked it, but then I like Bob’s training technique better than Jillian and Kim.

P9270098

Then I took our dog for a walk to the river, even though the leaves are falling the grass is still green!

P9270100

And the river was quite busy with the boats!

P9270103

I got this whole bowl of tomatoes for $4!  I used my trusty baja fresh salsa recipe – it never fails!

P9270107

P9270108

Make sure to start out at a high heat – you want the charred bits to give the salsa an extra smokey flavor.

P9270117

I had four jalapenos total, and left the seeds in two and deseeded two.  Can you see the black flecks and the cilantro – yum!

P9270002

So this weeks BSI is being hosted by Healthy San Diego Living – and she picked Chickpeas!  At first glance I was like, what am I going to do with that ingredient?!

P9270111

I had a ton of broccoli I needed to use up, so I decided to add the chick peas to the soup to thicken it up – it turned out really good!

Broccoli Cheese Soup with Chickpeas

  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. butter
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1 quart of chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 12 ounces of fresh broccoli
  • 1 can of chick peas, rinsed
  • 6 ounces of cheese
  • sprinkle of fresh grated parm on top
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • pinch of dried thyme

Melt the butter and olive oil.  Add garlic and cook for a couple minutes.  Add flour and stir for one minute.  Slowly add the milk to make a roux.  Add chicken broth, water, broccoli and chick peas.  Simmer for 20-30 minutes until broccoli is tender.  I used  my stick blender to puree.  Removed from heat then stirred in the grated cheese.  This makes 8 cups and each cup comes in at: 198 calories, 12 fat, 12 carbs, 2.1 fiber and 11.2 protein.

P9270118

My lunch was one up of soup with an ounce of tortilla chips on the side.

P9270129

I also made two loaves of Artisan bread – so simple and delicious!  I gave Joe a slice with butter and cinnamon and sugar – he loved it!  Here’s how the dough looks after 2 hours of rising.

P9270007

P9270010

While the boys had Italian beef sandwiches, I decided to make an Italian beef pizza!  6 ounces of dough, 1 ounce Italian beef, 1 ounce of Italian sausage, 1.5 ounces mozzarella cheese.  I ate 3/4 of it – delicious!!

P9270020

Stats for the Day

  • 1269 calories
  • 49 fat
  • 58 protein
  • 146 carbs
  • 10.9 fiber
  • 30 minute BL Boot Camp
  • 15 minute walk with Ed

Gotta scoot!  Curb Your Enthusiasm is coming on and Tony and Hannah are counting down the minutes to the Season Premiere of Dexter!  Do you watch it?!

See you tomorrow night!

25 thoughts on “Beautiful Day and BSI – Chickpeas!

  1. Your meals rock!! That breakfast looks fabulous – love those calorie counts too – and the variety. I don’t watch it! I tried to watch the first epi and I dunno – i was scared! LOL

  2. wow..such fab meals! everything looks so good!

  3. Oh wow, that soup looks amazing!! ESpecially with that crispy bread. I am a huge fan of soup, especially broccoli cheese. I’ve never tried it with chickpeas though, but who wouldn’t like a good legume in their soup?!

    I can’t get over the steak tartar. Did they seriously eat that raw?!? I’m gagging. With all the foodborne illnesses that are going around these days, that takes guts! Of course, your recommendation was good, regarding getting the meat at a well known butcher, smart move.

  4. I always love seeing your roasted tomatoes, peppers, and the resulting salsa. Mmm!

  5. Ick, I don’t think I could do that tartar!

    I couldn’t think of anything for chickpeas either, I usually just eat them plain or grind into hummus. Of course last night I was reading my mags and found a fantastic chickpea burger recipe – but we had J’s mom’s bday today and I hadn’t run to the store.. so.. ugh.

    Mmm I wish I could smell that bread!

  6. The soup sounds great! Awesome way to use chickpeas! And the pizza looks sooooo good!

    Have a great week! 🙂

  7. I am drooling over your salsa! I left you an award on my blog 🙂

  8. I already watched the premiere a few weeks ago! It was leaked on the internet. I love Dexter. I can’t wait until next week :):)

  9. Oh, I love chipeas…straight outta the can. Love the pics, as always.

  10. I meant to say chickpeas, not chipeas. Sheesh.

  11. the pizza looks awesome! nice!! i would think the tatar would be yummy if it were cooked! lol im not a fan of raw meat.. gives me the creeps!
    chickpeas?? i would never know what to do with those things.. the soup was a nice idea!

  12. Yum. the pizza looks great! I love chick peas too, crazy enough i’d never even had them until a few months ago,…..man was i missing out!! i too loved the soup idea!!

  13. Chickpeas in soup – who knew?!? What a great idea for adding some protein to a veggie soup!

  14. All Hail Dexter Morgan!! I love that show! Can’t wait to see it this season with the addition of Lithgow!

    Chickpeas as a soup thickener is GENIUS. I have used white beans to do that before but never thought of chickpeas.

    Your salsa looks amazing.

  15. great idea on the soup, and the bread looks so delicious. i must have that pizza!

  16. YAY Chickpeas!! My favorite legume 🙂 That soup sounds amazing – a winner in my book!

  17. All of your food sounds delicious. I think I keep the chickpea/garbanzo bean industry afloat. I use them all the time! I have quite a few favorite recipes for them.

  18. I LOVE the soup idea….. I would have thought hummus but soup is so much more original!!! I bet my hubby would love that! He loves B&C soup and he likes chick peas…. perfect combo! Happy Monday!
    -A

  19. Biz, can you use skim milk in that soup recipe, or would it not taste as rich??

    Love the Italian pizza! So good!

  20. i liked the last episode of curb – i felt the season premiere was a bit off the wall, and this was more “classic.”

  21. Love your photos! The broccoli soup looks heavenly! And your calorie count- great idea.
    I’m jealous if fall is about to descend upon you. We are setting records in South Florida. I can’t remember it being as hot and humid the end of September in a long time. It has been a very long, hot summer.

  22. Thanks so much for stopping by–I’m so glad to know about your site, too. Looks fantastic!

  23. O Biz your gourmet skills always amaze me!! I LOVE Curb soooo much, I don’t have HBO (ha only 13 channels to be exact actually!) but I love getting the DVD’s and just watching all of the hilariousness in a marathon 😀 Larry David is the best.

  24. You are so gourmet!

    That soup looks fabulous!

Leave a comment