A grandma at age 41??!!

Hannah broke the news to me today.  I thought I had talked to her at length about the consequences of your actions, but I guess it just didn’t sink in. 

KIDDING!

PA070037

Hannah is in child development class and brought home a baby that makes all sorts of noises – our dog Ed is beside himself, he’s not quite sure how to react!  I had to sign off on this doll, because each one costs $800!  She has it for the next two days, and when this baby cries, its loud!  I am hoping it “sleeps” through the night tonight!

Last night I made a breakfast frittata for one for my breakfast this morning.  When I took it out of the oven, Hannah said “what’s that for?”  I told her it was breakfast and happily agreed to split it with her.  Um, half a serving is only 156 calories, and even with my apple, breakfast only came in at 216 calories!

Breakfast Frittata

  • 4 ounces cooked potato, sliced
  • 4 ounces shredded zucchini
  • 1/4 cup egg beaters
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1 ounce cheese
  • 1 tablespoon half and half

PA070012

Um, pretty sure this was delicious!  1/2 of this frittata is 156 calories, 4.9 fat, 13 protein, 14 carbs and 2 fiber.

I found Honeycrisp apples at Sam’s Club, and after seeing Meghann rave about them, I had to pick them up – they were 3 pounds for $3.99, and while on the small side, so delicious!  Tony and I both agree that this would be a great apple for apple pie!

PA070008

So since I only had half of my frittata, i was starving by 11:30 – luckily I had these egg rolls in the freezer at work!

PA070013 

Perfect snack before my 45 minute walk at lunch!  But I seriously could not wait to eat my lunch.  It was so good!  I threw together a spicy Thai noodle soup with what I had on hand.

  • 3 quarts chicken broth (I used my chicken soup base)
  • 3 inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and poked with a fork to let the juices out
  • 3 jalapeno peppers, sliced
  • 6 whole garlic cloves
  • 8 ounces cooked chicken
  • 8 ounces dried angel hair Chinese noodles
  • 6 frozen veggie potstickers

I simmered the broth, garlic, ginger and jalapenos for about 30 minutes.  I removed them and then added the cooked chicken and noodles until the noodles were done.  On the side I cooked the potstickers according to direction – heat 1 teaspoon oil, fry for 2 minutes, add 6 tablespoons water then put a lid on until they steamed.  Since I knew I was taking this for lunch, I kept the potstickers separate, then heated the soup and potstickers separately, then put them together and added chopped fresh cilantro.  HOLY YUM!  The broth was both spicy and flavorful, the perfect combo!  While this picture is not pretty, it is making the best broth!

PA060059

The noodles:

PA060064

The perfect lunch!

PA070019

I deconstructed my soup for the nutrition – I had 6 potstickers, 2 1/2 cups of broth, 4 ounces of cooked noodles – this whole delicious bowl was only 385 calories, 4.9 fat, 12.5 fiber, 74 carbs, 4.7 fiber.

Stats for the Day

  • 1291 calories (not pictured – an ounce of pretzels)
  • 41 fat
  • 188 carbs
  • 14.2 fiber
  • 45 protein
  • 45 minute walk at lunch 😀

Who watched Biggest Loser last night?   All in all I thought it was kind of boring, but I still think Tracy is somewhat of bitch.  And every time I see Shay cry it makes me cry!  And how is it that Tracy loses 4 pounds NOT able to exercise??!!  The fast food challenge was interesting though!  That’s how it is in real life.

Alright – time to snuggle with my Tony!  See you tomorrow night for the winner of the Cabot Cheese giveaway!

26 thoughts on “A grandma at age 41??!!

  1. Enjoy your peek into grandmother-hood!

    Love all the eats! 🙂

  2. Honeycrisp are one of the best apples, although I really like Pink Lady Apples too.

  3. I’m a Fuji gal myself but I honestly don’t think I’ve actually had a honeycrisp because (here in MO) they are the first to ripen & we always miss them. We don’t go apple picking until mid/late September so I can get JonGolds (jonathons mixed with Gold Delicious – make excellent unsweetened applesauce!!) and Jonathons (for applebutter).

    That soup looks & sounds fabulous. I think I’m going to have to try that one day. I’ve never ever bought the chinese noodles but I always look at them in the store thinking ‘what the heck could I do with these?’ lol

    Thanks for sharing & I hope the “baby” doesn’t keep you all up at night. 😉

    Lynn

  4. Oh I love frittatas! Yum! Honeycrisps are awesome. I hope to go to the orchard this weekend and get some off the trees!

  5. $800!? Oh my goodness, it’s almost as much as a real BABY! I guess it’ll really teach her not to lose it or drop it on it’s head! Love the breakfast frittata!!

  6. I agree, how did she lose that weight without exercise? Are they hiding something? It’s very odd.

    You actually had me scared fora second with the title and the intro, good one! April fools! I remember having to have those little dolls in health class. My friends and I were in our junior year of high school and we brought them with us to a party. Smart!

    I love the breakfast frittata, and the stats are outstanding. Who says you can’t eat well and healthy at the same time?!

  7. I had to do that for one of my high school classes! It was the first year my school bought the dolls, so we actually threw a “baby shower” and had to bring in outfits otherwise the babies would be naked! haha I had a little boy and I named him Adrian. The key was fastened to your wrist w/ a tamper proof cord!! And you lost points on the assignment if you were late for school or missed the day after the assignment to catch up on lost sleep! PHEW I don’t miss that!

    Those noodles look so pretty! So does your apple! 🙂

    I got flank steak tonight, your post the other day inspired me, I can’t get it out of my head!!

  8. I hope the baby sleeps through the night! 😉

    The frittata looks amazing; I’ll have to make one soon!

  9. The frittata and the soup are DEFINITELY being added to my “must make soon!” list–they look delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipes!

  10. Both of your meals today look fab – they are going into my “recipes to try” folder!

    I think the baby is a cool idea for teens – it can let them know FAST how much attention babies need…at all hours! Glad you’re not a grandma at 41 – can you imagine??? I could not!

  11. As to Tracey on BL…honestly i can’t even stand seeing her on the screen. Honestly I think she is a bit unhinged mentally and it makes me uneasy to see her continue forward. And yeah I would like to know how she lost 4lbs when she was told she needed not to loose any this week and isn’t allowed to workout. I did like the take out food challenge they were given cause I think it was helpful for them to learn how to navigate healthy eating in a more real world situation.

  12. Oh my! What a project! Kind of cool, actually…and potentially a good birth control reminder 😉

    I am just catching up on BL. Haven’t seen this recent one but just saw the “Would your Rather” episode and it made me DESPISE Tracy! Ugh!

  13. I had to spend a week with one of those dolls in high school. It cried so loud! Somehow I managed to sleep through it towards the end of the week, not so great for my grade!

  14. That soup looks sooooo good!!

    And 800 bucks for a doll? Jeepers!

  15. I bought Honey Crisp apples at Aldi this week – 69 cents each! They are a good size and delicious. This morning I had steel cut oatmeal with chopped apples and walnuts and a dash of nutmeg, Yum. They are now my favorite apple.

  16. The frittata looks awesome! that baby sounds intense…. I thought they only did stuff like that on TV! haha

  17. I love the soup!!

    I can’t wait to make it

  18. I thought u were serious when I saw the title, then I noticed it was a fake baby. You got me.

    The apples look very fresh. I like to add chopped apples into my salads. Apple pie sounds good too.

  19. Oh wow at least she gets a doll to carry around. We had to carry stupid eggs. Hope she has a good time!

  20. OMG that cracked me up! You got me!

  21. Where do you get those noodles from?

  22. We never got to have those fake babies in school – we were made to carry around an egg for a couple days, that we had to draw a face on and everything. Obviously, we had to return with our egg intact. I think the teacher must have marked them or something so they knew it was the same egg as well. LOL.

Leave a comment