Another Award!

SuziCate is a new blog to me – its weird how you can stumble accross a blog and think “how did I not find it sooner?!”  She is a wonderful writer and I am so glad  I found her.  

I need to write about 10 things that make me happy – that’s easy!

  1. Kissing my husband.  Seriously, best kisser EVER! 😀
  2. Snuggling with my daughter when we watch a chick flick.
  3. Football season so my step-son Joe comes to the house!
  4. Hanging out with my Mom. 😀
  5. Trees.
  6. Sunsets.
  7. Cold beer on a summer day.
  8. The smell of the grill.
  9. The Irving Sandwich at Siegelman’s Deli
  10. Tiny babies – that I get to hold and then hand back!

Breakfast yesterday was a simple egg white wrap with ham and Swiss Lorraine aka stinky cheese!

I had an extra baked potato in the fridge, so lunch was easy – broccoli cheddar stuffed potato with a giant salad on the side – I need to eat more veggies!  The spicy bbq sauce makes this 😀

with Annie's Goddess dressing - so good!

My friend and I did Jillian’s Fat Banish work out yesterday, but I was not feeling it – we skipped the circuits that were hard – and only did about 35 minutes of the 60 minute dvd.   Later in the afternoon though, I could feel the sweat start to go down the back of my neck and sure enough, my blood sugar was 48!

Whoppers to the rescue!  I had two of these bags, so six whoppers all together.

I had chicken breasts I needed to cook up, so I gave Tony three options for dinner:  Chicken Parmesan, White Chicken Chili or Chicken Cordon Bleu.   He chose the Chicken Cordon Bleu, but I don’t think he was prepared for the healthier version!

He remembers a deep fat fried version that when you cut into it, butter and cheese oozes out all over the place. 

Mine was a bit different!  First, I butterflied the chicken and pounded it thin.  And yes, my meat tenderizor (sp?) is from Williams Sonoma, but Tony got it for me last year – I love it!

I use parchment paper instead of saran wrap

Then I grated Swiss cheese over the ham

Then I rolled the chicken in half, dipped it into an egg white and milk wash, then rolled it in Italian bread crumbs with added rosemary.   I pan fried it with just 1 tsp. of canola oil and Pam.

I saw Rochelle’s (Aquired Taste) version of Cordon Bleu and liked her addition of peppers, so I added sauteed peppers to mine.

I only ate half of this piece, and maybe because the deep fryer was still on the counter, I made french fries on the side 😀

these were half of ONE potato!

Spoiler Alert:  Biggest Loser!

I fast forwarded a lot of the show last night, but I was glad that they left Michael on the show – being the biggest guy on campus, I am glad they sent his Mom home – and she has conquered her fear of water!  

I have similar issues with water – and I think the when I did my triathlon in 2006, Tony was so happy to see me get out of the water!

Proud Momma Moment.  Hannah just finished her first semester of her senior year – check out these grades!

I am completely kidding about the B- !  I would have killed for a B- in high school! 😀  So proud of you Hannah!

23 thoughts on “Another Award!

  1. LOVE your list! And you know I think I’d shove a kids in the dirt about now to steal a bag of whoppers…how can you only eat six, such will power! That’s fantastic for your daughter…YAY!!!!

  2. My stomach actually started growling while reading this. Tony’s idea of Chicken Cordon Bleu made me laugh – and remember that last year when the hubby and I were in St. Martin I had THE MOST DIVINE Veal Cordon Bleu. I think it may have been prepared in a fryer because whoo buddy it was crispy on the outside, tender on the inside and oooozed cheese and butter. Ah well. I was on vacation.

  3. Great Job Hanna!! I am so proud of you girl!!!

    I love the chicken cordon bleu, did you cook it ALL on the stove, or did you bake it in the oven??

    • Since it’s pounded thin, just took about 20 minutes – after the first flip I put a lid on so it would cook through – nice and tender and juicy!

  4. Chicken cordon bleu is a favorite of my husband. I’ll have to try making a healthier version!

    Congrats on your daughter’s grade! That’s awesome!

  5. Biz, you’re making me blush… of course you can add me to your blogroll! (Now I feel bad that I didn’t ask you before I added you – hahahahaha.)

  6. I remember the old ways of chicken cordon bleu – yum…but I have to say that your version looks so good!

    Great job with the grades, Hannah! And Biz, I totally yank my kid’s chains about their report cards like that, too!

  7. Don’t laugh…but I’ve never had Chicken Cordon Bleu because I always thought it had blue cheese in it (I know). 🙂 That looks amazing!! I definitely want to try it.

    Hannah is so smart – awesome job, Hannah!

  8. I love to hold babies & then give them back too!

    Mmmm cordon bleu! One of the pubs in my hometown makes a yummy grilled chicken cordon bleu sammie!

  9. Nice grades!!

    That chicken cordon bleu looks fantastic – as does the egg wrap!

  10. Congrats on the award! Love the breakfast wrap, I need to get some wraps to have on hand, b/c I always used to love those. Funny how you “forget” about a certain food for awhile! Awesome Whopper pic!! The chicken cordon bleu looks SO good and THANK YOU for posting this. I’ve been wracking my brain since yesterday what to cook for dinner tonight, one of J’s co-workers is coming over. I wanted to avoid going to the store, and I can totally make this w/ some leftover ham. Yes!!! Congrats to Hannah and love the B- WTF hahaha! You should sign that and return it to the teacher like that! 😛

  11. YAY!! Way to go Hannah!! 🙂

    That chicken looks great. Andrew would think he’d died and gone to heaven if I made that for him, haha! 🙂

  12. I love everything about this post, but you really had me at the smell of the grill!

  13. what a great list! wow, your chicken looks amazing, seriously. congrats to hannah! Thanks for stopping by my corner of the blogworld, sorry I’ve been MIA trying to get a new site look going 🙂 hope you have a great weekend!

  14. That chicken looks so yummy! I may try this one this week!!

  15. That chicken looks like all sorts of yum. And I love the meat tenderizer – it means business!

  16. congrats on the award! the cordon bleu looks wonderful. great job hannah~

  17. Smart cookie! That’s great!

    48! Biz! Are you on insulin? I sure hope so with lows like that 😦

    That breakfast looks WOOONDERFUL!!!!

    • Yep – I take 1 unit of insulin for every 5 grams of carbs – seems to work pretty well – I only get lows like that a few times a week.

      My 30 day BS average? 112 – nice! 😀

  18. congrats to Hannah on the grades! I can’t imagine how proud you must feel – she is such a great kid!

    that chicken cordon bleu looks amazing – i love bell peppers on everything!

  19. Chef Hymie Grande (www.chefhymiegrande.com ) is the first and only bottled BBQ sauce to carry the seal of the American Diabetes Association on the label. It has no high fructose corn syrup, no processed sugar, it is all natural and vegan friendly. It is produced at the Rutgers Food Innovation Center in Bridgton, NJ by Jamie Failtelson, a.k.a. Chef Hymie Grande of Carlstadt, NJ. 5% of proceeds go to the American Diabetes Association.

Leave a comment