Can every Friday be a half day?

I got so much done yesterday afternoon – I wish every Friday could be a half day!  Work was busy, so busy I forgot to take a picture of my breakfast sammie, but it was identical to yesterday’s steak sammie – I had two tangerines on the side – so juicy and good!

I met Tony for lunch at Portillo’s – he was like “why are we going to a beef place when its lent?”  Luckily they had a pepper and egg sammie!   I had a bite of it and it was really good – the peppers are cooked perfectly!

Before going I googled the nutritional information since its not on their website.  I found this site and while I am not sure if it is 100% accurate, I went with it!  I ended up getting the Chicken Pecan salad with the dressing on the side.  It said the dressing was a dijon dressing, but I was surprised that it was hot!

430 calories, 25 grams of fat

I dropped our tax stuff off to the accountant and when I got home I realized it was a perfect day to walk the dog outside!  He doesn’t like it when its too cold, and he’s getting older, so about 20 minutes is his limit – he loved it!

I am hoping within the next week all the snow will be melted!

So since it was lent, Tony came up with his pizza – Fish Stick Pizza! He made a sauce of diced tomatoes and horseradish to kind of mimic cocktail sauce, and then I put American cheese and cooked fish sticks on top.

ready for the oven - I cooked his in a cast iron skillet

12 minutes later at 425 - done!

And I finally made my Buffalo Chicken Pizza!  I don’t know why I have waited so long to make this – I am entering this into Christina’s Friday First post yesterday!   I diced up 1/2 a chicken breast, then tossed it 1/3 cup Frank’s sauce.  While I only used 2 ounces of the chicken on my pizza, I poured the hot sauce on top of the pizza sauce, so every bite would be spicy!!

So my pizza:  5 ounces of dough, 2 ounces of chicken, 1.5 ounces mozzarella cheese and .5 ounce crumbled blue cheese – then I added shredded lettuce on top right before eating.  I ate 3/4 of my pizza – 713 calories, but totally worth it!

I like a crispy crust, so I cooked mine for 15 minutes

But around 10:00 last night, I got snackish and made popcorn!  Tony showed me how to make popcorn when we first met and it comes out perfect every time!

Helps to start with good popcorn!

his secret?  after the first pop, remove from heat and let it sit for 5 minutes - it cooks the kernals more and then when you put it back on high heat it is the perfect pop!

We also use a mesh screen – not a top so that the steam escapes making the popcorn extra crunchy.

Stats for Friday:  20 minute walk with the dog – 50 minute Bob’s Boot Camp DVD

I didn’t wake up until 9:45 this morning and we had errands to run before Hannah’s big birthday tomorrow!   I can’t believe my baby is going to be 18 already!  Come back tomorrow for a birthday blog about Hannah! 😀

Hope everyone is having great weather today – it feels 45 degrees today and it’s sunny!


13 thoughts on “Can every Friday be a half day?

  1. Your pizza looks a lot better. The weather is great here.

  2. Fish stick pizza?!! That looks really good to me!! I haven’t had fish sticks in for.ev.er. But I’d totally eat that pizza!! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

    Wow, you guys are SO freaking creative w/ your pizzas. Both of them made me smile at the uniqueness!!! Totally awesome! I might try that buffalo chicken pizza and put CELERY on top! Woo man that sounds good! hehe

    We call Portillo’s “Portabello Road.” haha I don’t knwo why, we’re just odd. I can’t STAND their beef sandwich, it was so soggy I thought it was a joke when J had me try it. But I love their chili dogs!!!

  4. Delicious eats!
    I just discovered your blog – and I´m loving it, so far!
    😀
    Have an amazing Saturday!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  5. I agree – when you have a pizza that is that good, make room for the calories!

  6. fitandfortysomething

    Oh my your pizzas look great! My hubby made some this afternoon too. Happy bday to your daughter-18 already wow!

  7. Oooooooo Portillo’s *droooool*

  8. Yums you guys always come up with the best recipes…I am so jealous lol

  9. What a cool way to make popcorn – I will have to keep my eye out for a screen…I want to try that!

  10. I’d be VERY interested to find out how to make perfect popcorn 🙂 Like, specifics. Right now I have a microwave popper and it’s good, but it always comes out a little bit dry 😦

  11. The pizza looks yummy. The popcorn is totally off my list ever since I broke a tooth on popcorn and my dentist told me it’s very abrasive and bad for your teeth, lol

  12. Mmm I can’t lie to you- I loooove fish sticks. Your pizzas look delicious. I’m a huge fan of buffalo chicken and it’s definitely one of the best toppings for a nice pie!
    Can’t wait to hear about Hannah’s bday! Wish her a happy one for me!

  13. Flax seed oil is just a different way to get some Omega 3’s although reading afterwards it seems like it’s not as good as fish oils. I have had the fish oils before but I quite often get them causing me a fish breath. When the FSO runs out I will go back to the fish oil probably.

Leave a comment