Spaghetti Squash/Quinoa casserole!

Thanks to www.greenlitebites.com, I was introduced to spaghetti squash, and haven’t looked back since!

But I found that I was only using it as I would spaghetti – topped with pasta sauce and cheese.

I wish I had come up with this idea, but I got it from here:  http://www.artsy-foodie.com/2008/10/what-to-do-with-spaghetti-squash.html

I did change it up a bit, with what I had on hand, and changed some amounts to make it healthier (AND NO ONIONS!).  This is four servings!

here it is before getting mixed together - love only using one bowl!

here it is before getting mixed together - love only using one bowl!

can you see the bits of bacon and quinoa?!  Yum!

can you see the bits of bacon and quinoa?! Yum!

  • 2 cups cooked spaghetti squash, chopped
  • 8 ounces low-fat ricotta cheese
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 3 large eggs
  • 4 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 2 slices cooked bacon, crumbled (forgot to add bacon before I took the pic above!)
  • 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
  • two big pinches of crushed red pepper
  • cracked pepper to taste

Each serving: 314 calories, 16.25 fat, 22.5 carbs, 1.25 fiber, 19 protein

My daughter and I each had a sliver while still warm last night, and it reminds us of quiche.  And guess what?  She actually had a slice for breakfast! 

I imagine this would be good for a Sunday brunch for something a bit different.  And since the spaghetti squash was chopped, you really couldn’t taste the spaghetti squash, everything just melded so well together!

UPDATE: After my friend and I reheated this for lunch, we both agreed that it was a tad dry, and we think that you could pass this off as a spaghetti squash/quinoa lasagna.  Making the same recipe as stated above, however, serving it with warm marinara drizzled over the top with grated Parmesan cheese. 

566 calories, 25 fat, 6 fiber, 37 carbs, 46 protein

With my huge side salad: 566 calories, 25 fat, 6 fiber, 37 carbs, 46 protein

It took me forever to find quinoa, and when I did, all the initial recipes I tried called for it cold, like a pasta salad.  I didn’t like it.  BUT I LOVE IT WARM!

Biggest Loser is on tonight!  See you at dinner!

18 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash/Quinoa casserole!

  1. I’m going to try that! Maybe I would like it!

  2. Wow that looks great! Way to be creatvie with the spegetti squash! It was really is such a versatile vegetable. 🙂

  3. That looks GREAT! What an inventive way of using spaghetti squash 🙂 I’m def gonna make this soon.

  4. Ihave to try this. It looks so good and you could really use your imagination to vary it!

    Thanks for bringing it up.

  5. Thanks for showing me this. It’s always good to have new ways to prepare it. You make it look so delicious 🙂

  6. Hi! I am so glad the quinoa squash bake recipe inspired you. 🙂
    It sounds great the way you made it too. I think the cottage cheese is what keeps the casserole moist. Ricotta cheese has a dryer texture when it bakes still tasty though. I’ll have to try it your way next time.

  7. I have been wanting to try using spaghetti squash more often and this sound like a nice way to.

  8. What a great idea! I think pasta sauce on almost anything makes it better 🙂 I haven’t tried the spag squash yet! I must do so soon! Enjoy the biggest loser! I haven’t been watching this season 😦 I love that show though!

  9. Oh my goodness that looks absolutely fantastic. I need to dive into spaghetti squash making ASAP!

  10. This recipe might prompt a marriage proposal from me. So what if you’re already married and we’re both straight women? I cannot wait to try it! It looks SO delicious, but I’d add onions! I think your onions are my tomatoes – I omit them whenever possible.

    Oh – and I do not think I’d like quinoa cold, either. I’ve always eaten it hot. I found the same problem with couscous. A lot of salads and side dishes called for it cold. When I first tried it, I thought I hated it. But I LOVE it hot!

  11. I wanted to check out your spaghetti squash/quinoa lasagna after you mentioned it on my site. It looks fabulous!! I too am sad that I’ve been missing out on spaghetti squash for so long!

  12. […] at it and said “what the hell is that and I am not eating that!”  I decided to make my spaghetti squash/quinoa casserole, but decided to add 1/2 cup of pasta sauce to the mix.  So while it kind of looks like ass, the […]

  13. Thanks for posting this recipe on my blog. We’ll give it a try! It looks good (but doesn’t everything that includes bacon?!?). 🙂

  14. This looks fantastic! Have yet to cook with quinoa but I would like to give it a try. So nice to have more options than just marinara with spaghetti sqaush!

  15. How long did you cook your version for and what temperature?

  16. This DOES look good! Thanks for sharing this link with me! 🙂

Leave a comment