Spicy Eggs in a Cloud and Whole Wheat Bagels

I saw a recipe for this eggs in a cloud and immediately upon seeing it, I knew I would make it – and Sunday morning is the perfect morning to try new things when not in a hurry.  I don’t remember where I got the recipe though!  It was a bed and breakfast recipe blog – so if its yours, let me know!

I decided to use pumpernickel bread, bacon, muenster cheese and 1 egg for mine.  Cook bacon until crisp.  Lay bread on cookie sheet lined with foil.  Put 2 slices of cooked bacon on each piece of bread, followed by the cheese.  Make sure to cover the whole bread with cheese – mine was about 1.5 ounces.

Separate three eggs, trying not to break the yolks (I broke 2 out of 3!).  Mix egg whites until it forms a meringue, until stiff peaks form.  Spoon the meringue on top of the bread, and make a well – place a yolk in the well and bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes, until the yolk is set and the egg whites are browned.

P8020008

Here’s how they looked before going in the oven – I broke all but one egg, but I didn’t mind because I don’t like runny yolks, so my yolk was really well cooked.

P8020010

P8020013

See how my yolk cooked on the side – it was perfect!  Of course, I doused my clouds with Tabasco!  I gave Tony the whole yolk, because he likes runny eggs.

P8020016

The egg whites were light and fluffy, but Tony and I agreed that we thought cheese added to the yolks would have tasted good – not sure I would have been able to get stiff peaks though if I added anything to the egg whites – does anyone know?

I haven’t made bagels in ages, and thought it was about time.  They are really quite simple, just need time to let them rise.

Whole Wheat Bagels

  • 2 cups water
  • 2 packages active dry yeast (I have loose yeast, so 2.25 teaspoons is the equivalent to 1 package of yeast)
  • 3 teaspoons salt
  • 2.5 cups white whole wheat flour (I use King Arthur)
  • 2.5 cups bread flour (King Arthur(
  • water for boiling bagels
  • cornmeal to sprinkle on cookie sheet
  • egg wash of 1 egg yolk mixed with 1 tablespoon water
  • any topping you want

Combine water with yeast in stand mixer and let sit for 5 minutes.  Add the salt and mix.  Gradually stir in the 5 cups of combined flour – add more water if its a bit floury, 1 tablespoon at a time.  You’ll know you have it right when you bowl is nice and clean!  I let the machine knead the dough for 10 minutes.

P8020002

Then put in a bowl and put a damp paper towel on top for 40 minutes, until its doubled in size.

P8020018

At this point, I weighed the whole dough to figure out how big each bagel should be – it came out to 3.2 ounces each for a bakers dozen: 13

Roll each bagel in a ball, then stick your thumb in the middle and move it around your thumb.  Let rest for 20 minutes while you boil the water.

P8020020

Boil the bagels, 4 at a time for 2 minutes on each side.  I used a slotted spoon to remove, then used a paper towel to quickly drain and placed on the cookie sheet.  Brush with egg wash and put desired toppings on.  I did garlic garlic seasoning (Tastefully Simple) on some, sesame seeds and sliced jalapeno peppers. 😀

P8020024

P8020003-1

P8020007-1

And while good straight out of the oven, they become great after you toast them!  But the best part is the nutritional value!

Each bagel comes in at:

  • 177 calories
  • .9 fat
  • 36 carbs
  • 3.3 fiber
  • 6.8 protein

Not bad for a generous size bagel!  I could only fit 8 bagels on the tray at once, so 5 sat on the counter for an extra 30 minutes.  These of course rose more and are bigger!  So I think the next time I make this recipe, I’ll let the bagels rest for 60 minutes.

I am off to make my menu for next week – see you later! 😀

11 thoughts on “Spicy Eggs in a Cloud and Whole Wheat Bagels

  1. Those eggs in the clouds look wonderful. I’ll have to try that. I so enjoy your blog – it always makes me hungry! You are such a fabulous cook. Thanks for sharing your talents with the rest of us mere mortals.

  2. Thank you so much for stopping by my little blog! I just checked yours out and it looks awesome 🙂

  3. Those eggs look perfect! Actually, the bagels do too. 😀

  4. Wow, a healthy bagel?? I love it! The eggs in a cloud look amazing too, the name describes them well! I love runny yolks, the runnier the better. I like to soak up the yolk with a slice of bread 🙂

  5. Those egg things are super cool!!

  6. those fluffy eggs look awesome! and those bagels? ahhhh divine! i would love to try and make my own bagels sometime!

  7. ok those eggs looks so unique!!

  8. Those eggs in a cloud are something I’m gonna have to try! With you being diabetic too, I’m just curious if you watch the carbs – and if so, what’s your limit? I’m trying to find a good balance here and with so many different things being said about counting carbs or calories, etc. I just get so confused. Would love to hear how you do it. (As well as any pointers on meal planning!)

  9. Hi Biz,

    I want to try to make those bagels, but I don’t see what temp. to cook them at/for how long?
    Thanks!

Leave a comment