Exercise TV On Demand

While Tony and Hannah know our AT&T U-verse inside and out, I rarely take the time to see what is available.  I know Meghann routinely does exercise t.v. on demand so this morning, since the dog had absolutely NO interest in going outside, I decided to see if we had something similar.  Guess what?? WE DO!

It was under the heading of “Lifestyle” t.v. and at first I saw FoodTV and HGTV on demand, then I continued to scroll down and found Exercise TV!  And wouldn’t you know it they had 30-day shred levels 1 and 2, and Jillian’s body sculpt!!  Since I have being doing mostly cardio lately, I decided to give the body sculpt a try.  It was perfect – 25 minutes and I was done!  I am going to see what else is available for tomorrow 😀

PC020003

I’ve talked about my fiber intake being quite low in my daily stats.  Marianne had some great ideas for me, so I decided to seek out things that were higher in fiber.  I found this at my local grocery store.  It is a dense, almost nutty bread and has a long shelf life!  Even after opening its good until 7/2010!

PC020004

And at 120 calories and 4 grams a fiber, this one is a keeper!

PC020005

I decided to make apple cheese bread: 1 slice of fitness bread, 4 ounces sliced Fuji apple and 1 ounce of colby jack cheese – just in the toaster oven long enough to melt the cheese.  This kept me full for hours! 

PC020011

I’ve also noticed my veggie intake has been on the low side – I had carrots and cucumber on the side today – dipped into 1 ounce fat free ranch dressing mixed with 1 tablespoon of my homemade mustard – nice and spicy!  The picture of that kind of looks like shit on a plate, so I didn’t post it, but it tasted amazing!  I stopped buying baby carrots a long time ago – I think the cheap ones that you peel yourself taste so much better!

PC020015

I had 3/4 cup of my potato soup.

PC020018

And then I made a Pam grilled sandwich with the Fitness Bread.  On the inside is .8 ounces of swiss cheese, 1.5 ounces of deli corned beef and lots of banana peppers – it was delicious!

PC020020

Inspiration for tonight’s dinner came from Clean Eating, although I altered the recipe a bit.

PC020024

Since I had already made sauce last week from the $1 rack tomatoes, I was really only going to use the meatball recipe.  While I love all things goat cheese, the rest of the family doesn’t – so I subbed in 1 tablespoon shredded Parmesan for the goat cheese.   I actually thought I could fool the family if I used red quinoa – I thought it would blend in better with the ground sirloin!

PC020007

Biz’s Version of Quinoa Meatballs

  • 1/2 pound extra-lean ground sirloin (97/3% fat)
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 tablespoon shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon flaxseeds, ground
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh cracked pepper
  • 1 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder

This made 12 meatballs.  Each meatball comes in at 76 calories, 4 fat, 5.25 carbs, 4.8 protein, .6 fiber

Mix it altogether.  I weighed this whole mixture to find that each meatball should weigh .9 ounces before cooking. Um, the quinoa doesn’t hide very well!

PC020022

I Pam fried them just so they were brown on all sides – then finished them off in my pasta sauce while the pasta cooked.

PC020025

PC020028

My plate:  6 ounces cooked rigatoni, 1/2 cup marinara sauce, 3 quinoa meatballs, sprinkled with crushed red pepper flakes!

PC020033

I loved how the meatballs turned out!  While I made Tony meatballs sans the quinoa, he could tell right away that I had used very lean meat.  But my version was nice and tender – this one is a keeper!  While I was eating it I was thinking about making a mini sub sandwich for my lunch tomorrow maybe?

Stats for the Day

  • 1,298 calories
  • 46 fat
  • 168 carbs
  • 61 protein
  • 25 fiber (yippee!)
  • 25 minute Jillian body sculpt on Exercise TV
  • 45 minute walk at lunch with co-worker Renee
  • 10 minute walk with the dog after dinner

I was so excited to watch a new Modern Family tonight, but its a repeat!  😦

Who watched Biggest Loser last night?   I cannot believe that Danny lost –59 pounds in 60 days at home – that’s insane!  And did you notice how Liz kind of didn’t even pay attention to her husband when he met her on the marathon course?   So looking forward to the season finale.  I still wish they had a version of the show where you actually stay at your home the whole time – much more realistic when you throw in job responsibilities, paying bills, taking care of kids, shopping for groceries, etc.

This week is going by surprisingly fast!  Two more days til the weekend :D  See you tomorrow night!

28 thoughts on “Exercise TV On Demand

  1. This week is flllllying by, I agree! It’s unfortunate since I only have another week & a few days to finish (ahem, start) two research papers & a project. Blegh!

    I’d love some advice from you on my latest post – diabetes related!

  2. That’s like one time when I tried to add ground turkey to hamburger meat to make hamburgers. I totally thought no one would know, forgetting that when it cooked it would be two different colors!

    The quinoa meatballs are awesome! I would definitely make them!

    Great eats today Biz!

  3. Never thought about adding quinoa to meatballs but that is a great idea!

    Re the Biggest Loser – I think Liz is over her marriage already. Sad. Danny losing 59 pounds?!? Shocking! Hope he still has some in him to lose for the finale!

  4. My mom loves that bread! She can’t find it on the Outer Banks so she waits until she goes on big shopping trips in VA and buys tons of it.. b/c you’re right – it has a fantastic shelf life!

    I really love the quinoa meatball idea! What a great way to bulk them up and add tons of nutrition! I think it looks really pretty w/ the red! The last time I cooked meatballs I used the 97% lean, but I forgot to spray the pan (b/c I bake mine) to accomodate the fact that they wouldn’t release much fat — um, there will permanently be little burned circles where all the meatballs were! haha I’ve scrubbed and scrubbed to no avail – oops!

    Love the snow! 🙂 Yay for Christmas! 🙂

  5. I think Danny lost those 60 pounds in his face! Goodness, his face looks skinny!

  6. keep at it…a daily grind that you have as a routine!

    just what is your weight goal anyway???

  7. What a cool tv channel and such a great way to mix things up! Love those quinoa meatballs too!

  8. Glad you found a new source of motivation for exercise! That would be good for rainy days when you’re cooped up indoors.

    Quinoa meatballs? Oh wow…I love the way your mind thinks, Biz!

  9. Before I moved from Vegas I did on demand workout videos all the time. I even encouraged clients to do this if they were already paying for ondemand and complained about gym fees.

  10. Thanks for the tip about exercise tv. I’m going to look for it. I love crispy crackers, and have found RyVita in my grocery store. All whole grain, just 3 ingredients and they are absolutely delicious, very crispy, light and wonderful for a snack with hummus or cheese.

  11. Well done with upping the fiber and veggies! Two things I probably get too much of 😉

    Glad you found the exercises on On Demand – sometimes I do yoga on there because the guy reminds me of Matthew McConaughey!

  12. Exercise tv is my fave channel lol…actually it is the only channel under my favorites ha

  13. Quinoa in meatballs? Genius!

  14. J teases me with the fitness bread everytime we go to the store, although it’s more because it’s been sitting on the shelves there for too long! 🙂

    Don’t you just love the On Demand Exercise? It’s perfect for for winter days when I don’t want to drive to the gym!

  15. Wow, those meatballs sound great!

    I’ve never heard of fitness bread before. That’s the cutest name ever.

  16. I have AT&T Uverse, too. Guess I should be looking into Exercise TV…. : )

  17. I love the snow! 🙂

    Also, I did watch the Biggest Loser and was really bummed when Liz didn’t even hug her husband when she saw him! She was way more into Danny. Scandalous! 🙂

  18. Yeah, I reviewed the BL on my blog today, I think it’s great that Danny lost that much, but at the same time, SO DANGEROUS! And, I think him and Liz would make SUCH a cute couple, although I really like Danny’s wife. I think I just feel bad for Liz, she’s obviously so sad at home 😦

    Thanks for letting us know about the BL exercise tv! I do their pilates for abs, which i love, so I’ll have to try this soon!

  19. Ooo. I’d love to try that bread. But I wonder if it comes with the “happy an fulfilled” look that the chick on the package has? 😛

  20. Biz you are my height! lol too funny!

    ummmm im pretty sure shit on a plate would be hysterical!!

  21. i’m glad it’s not just me that thinks this week is just FLYING. i can’t believe it’s thursday already. the food looks awesome, i love those meatballs.

  22. I love Exercise TV!! 🙂 Can’t beat a FREE workout!!

    Mmmmmmm, apple cheese bread!! Great combo!!

  23. cant wait for the weekend! (is it me or is it ‘snowing’ in your blog?!” thats so cool!!

    LOVE exercise tv if I am bored sometimes I put it on and have myself a workout, the abs workouts are great!!

  24. You saying “sh!t on a plate” made me laugh so hard I snorted! You are too funny! 😀

  25. Hurray for upping that fibre! I’ve seen that bread at a specialty store before, but haven’t tried it out. It does look like it would be delicious and hearty. And hello quinoa meatballs – great idea, instead of the regular oats or breadcrumbs. Definitely helps out that fibre total. 😀

Leave a comment