I’ll have the tasteless dinner for two please.”

Thanks for all your well wishes for Hannah as she moves on with the next chapter of her life – I appreciate it! Open-mouthed smile

I am out of my beloved Chobani, so I went with Dannon’s Oikos greek yogurt – it was just okay.  Luckily I had super sweet strawberries and my coconut crunch granola on top to make up for it.   Breakfast comes in at 343 calories, 2.5 fat, 63 carbs, 5 fiber and 21 protein.  This time my parfait was served in a bowl.

pita 003

It was gorgeous yesterday – sunny and in the low 70’s.  I did my run/walk a song for 50 minutes.

walk

I ended up making a delicious stir fry for lunch.  I don’t think I had as many vegetables during all of last week that went into this bowl!

  • 1 cup broccoli
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 zucchini
  • 3 ounces of leftover steak

My sauce?  1 tablespoon of Frank’s spicy chili sauce, 1/4 cup of light coconut milk and 1 tablespoon of sriracha.  Yes, I said one tablespoon of sriracha – you know I loves the spice!  On the bottom was 1/2 cup of instant brown rice.  Lunch comes in at 450 calories, 16 fat, 51 carbs, 7.6 fiber and 28 protein.

pita 009

I’ve seen these rosemary skewers on t.v. and on other bloggers.  Never thought in a million years I would find them, but I did – at Dominick’s if you are in the Chicago area – this package was $2.99.

pita 011

pita 012

It wasn’t until I downloaded this picture that I see that I should have stripped leaves off 3/4 of the stalk – so no wonder this was hard to skewer!  But I persevered.  I marinated chicken breasts in Maple Farm’s fat free Greek dressing.  When I got home from work the chicken smelled amazing.  I basted the skewers with more the dressing while I grilled it.  The mushrooms would not skewer to save my life, so they grilled on their own.

pita 014

My idea was to make pita sandwiches – pita bread, tzatziki sauce and the grilled meat and vegetables.

pita 026

Put together – with a side of kettle chips, dinner comes in at 539 caloires, 16 fat, 65 carbs, 8.9 fiber and 34 protein.

pita 031

The verdict?  Pretty tasteless.  The pita was plain, the tzatziki sauce was just okay and the chicken, even marinated for 24 hours, really didn’t have much flavor at all.  So I think I need to make this again, but use my own marinade – does anyone have a tried and true Greek marinade for chicken?

Stats for Monday

  • 1511 calories, 42 fat, 207 carbs (a lot!) 25 fiber (nice!) 88 protein
  • 50 minute run/walk at lunch
  • average blood sugar 139

Before I post the Inspirational Diet thought for the day, I ran across this poster and laughed out loud!

motivational_blogging

Make it a great day!

quote_80

26 thoughts on “I’ll have the tasteless dinner for two please.”

  1. I make my tzatziki REALLY garlicky. That might pep it up…don’t you hate it when you make an effort and it’s just “okay?”

  2. aww I missed Hannah’s moving out post- so I had to go back. My parents had a hard time when I moved out & I was 29 years old! lol Maybe they thought I was staying permanently at that point? hehe 🙂

    Sean’s parents marinade chicken kebabs for the BBQ and they are SO delicious! I know it’s an onion, lemon juice, yogurt combo- but Im not certain. I will find out the exact recipe to share it with you. The only downside- morning onion breath. lol Yep, it happens every time I eat it. 🙂

  3. Too bad it was tasteless! It looks SO good!

  4. Those skewers are so cool! I want to get some. Neat neat neat. You always have me craving something…today its a parfait

  5. Wow what a bummer, it looked so good. I have been wanting to try those skewers but have not seen them yet. Happy Tuesday!

  6. It’s 8am here and I haven’t eaten breakfast. That yogurt bowl looks amazing! I prefer Chobani’s yogurt too.

    I marinate chicken in Greek salad dressing (like Newman’s Own Light) and it usually has a lot of flavor. Red wine vinegar helps too.

  7. myjourneytofit

    Your title made me laugh…dontcha hate it when something is just blah? It LOOKED good, anyway!

  8. Cool skewers, I know I won’t find them here…lol! 😉 Too bad your food was tasteless, it looked really good. I’ve used those McCormick package marinades and they’ve turned out really tasty. I usually marinate it overnight for the best flavor too.

  9. This is my personal fave, it’s my mom’s recipe and i make it all the time! http://www.imadedinner.net/2011/04/04/grecian-delight/

  10. Whoa – 1 TABLESPOON of sriracha??! You’re badass, Biz. I think I would die from that. Ha.

  11. melissalikestoeat

    Ok. You need to make my chicken kebabs and tzatziki STAT.
    http://www.melissalikestoeat.com/2012/05/1354marinated-lamb-kebabs.html
    Just substitute chicken for the lamb.
    Tzatziki:
    http://www.melissalikestoeat.com/2012/05/1354easy-tzatziki.html

  12. What a bummer on the chicken! Did the rosemary skewers add any flavor you could detect? I need more veggies in my life and in my lunch!

    • I guess we could taste a bit of rosemary around the chicken pieces, but that was about it. Maybe if I skewered them the night before??

  13. That’s too bad the dinner wasn’t yumtastic, I’d think the skewers would have made the meat and veg really flavorful! Boo. 😦

  14. Tami has one I’ve done before and it was tasty. I love the rosemary as a skewer. Cute. I’m trying that.

  15. You know, since it’s tasteless, I would have just dumped a whole bottle of hot sauce over. 😉

  16. Too bad it didn’t taste that well, it looks very good to me.

Leave a comment