Grilled Salisbury Steak over Zucchini with Mushroom Gravy

I was trying to do too much before work yesterday.  Laundry, making pancakes, pan frying chicken breasts for panini’s, blogging, etc.  I got half way to work and my phone told me I had a comment.  It was from Carrie (hi Carrie!) and her first question was: 1. Homemade Stirfry Sauce?

When I got to work I realized I completely skipped over my recipe and lunch!  So if you are interested – I’ve written out the recipe and you can check it out here.

I ended up making lemon poppy seed pancakes for breakfast yesterday.  I use Chobani’s lemon yogurt, but I think I could have used a bit of lemon juice or zest because it wasn’t too lemony.  I loves me some poppy seeds though!

Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

  • I got 10 pancakes using my 1/4 cup measuring cup
  • each pancake: 115 calories, 3 fat, 279 sodium, 15 carbs, 2.4 fiber and 5.8 protein

Ingredients:

  • 1 container of lemon Chobani
  • 1.5 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1.4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup vanilla soy milk
  • 1/3 cup Habitall sweetener
  • 1/3 cup poppy seeds

Mix everything together and let the batter sit for at least 10-15 minutes.  Cook in a skillet over medium heat – 1 to 2 minutes a side until browned.  Sadly I hit the ground running when I got to work, so this isn’t the best picture, but these were very good.  I bit drier with the whole wheat flour, but I added sf syrup so it was good.

6.5 007

6.6 014

I knew I was going to be doing Insanity last night so I decided to just walk on the treadmill.  My blood sugar was 150, so I drank a 10 ounce bottle of orange juice.  I ended up doing 40 minutes on a 7% incline.

6.6 017

As I was getting dressed, I could feel that my blood sugar was low, but I left my testing stuff on my desk.  I grabbed a protein bar on my way out of the gym at the front desk.

6.6 018

When I got to work, my blood sugar was 50!  So I ate an apple while I was making my lunch.  Sadly, our lunch wasn’t very good.  The bread didn’t stay together (note to self – buy a good bread knife for work!), and the goat cheese never really melted – it would have been better with a sharp cheddar or a more melty cheese.  I ended up eating only 1/2 of the sandwich. For my veggie dip I had Sabra’s luscious lemon hummus – so good!

6.6 004

I had my Company Salisbury steak on the menu, but I decided to switch it up a bit and leave out the egg.  I also used 80/20 beef which has more flavor.  The secret to keeping this together on the grill is to shape the patties, then put them in the freezer for 10 minutes.  Once on the grill, don’t move them until they get set and grilled on the bottom – about 6—8 minutes a side depending on how hot your grill is, then just another 4 minutes on the other side.

Grilled Salisbury Steak

  • 2 servings
  • 318 caloires, 22 fat, 262 sodium 6.4 carbs, .3 fiber and 20 protein

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces 80/20 beef
  • 2 tablespoons panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried mustard
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon ketchup
  • 1/2 teaspoon worcestershire sauce
  • pinch of salt and pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon prepared horseradish

Mix until combined.  Divide into two equal patties.  Put in the freezer for 10 minutes before grilling so they don’t fall apart on the grill.

While that was grilling I made a package of brown gravy.  I love that stuff.  My store usually sells it 2/$1.  1/4 cup is only 25 calories.  I ended up adding 1/2 a cup of mushrooms to the gravy and the mushrooms cooked in the sauce.  I grilled some zucchini on the side for the base, and had leftover mashed potatoes in the fridge and added 1/3 a cup of mashed potatoes on top of the steak before pouring the gravy over my meat.

6.6 005

6.6 007

So good.  I ate every single bite!  I made Tony’s with a slice of cheese bread on the bottom, but I didn’t want that many carbs for dinner.

About an hour after dinner I went to load Day 4 of Insanity.  The title instantly scared me:

PURE CARDIO!

But I have to say, I was able to do about 90% of the workout.  I had to do a few modifications – I can’t do the burpees as fast as they do, but I kicked ass on the warm up of jogging/jumping jacks/butt kicks and mummy kicks – I kept up the speed for each round of those. Open-mouthed smile

In case you are wondering, this is what a mummy kick is:  you cross your arms and kick your legs at the same time.

mummykicks

6.6 023

Day 4 done and done!  But secretly I am excited about my rest day on Sunday!

Stats for Thursday:

  • 40 minute walk, 7% incline at lunch
  • Day 4 – Pure Cardio – Insanity
  • 1677 calories, 76 fat, 160 carbs, 21 fiber and 88 protein
  • 38% of carbs from calories, 41% from fat and 21% from protein
  • no alcohol

I was sitting at my desk in the afternoon and Tony sent me an email and the re line said:  Love is. . .

I immediately thought it was going to be some sappy email saying how he can’t live without me, he loves our life together, etc., etc.  Nope, this is what he sent me – happy Friday – make it a great day!

19850

9 thoughts on “Grilled Salisbury Steak over Zucchini with Mushroom Gravy

  1. Thank you, Biz! Could you tell that I really wanted that recipe. 😉

    Your Salisbury Steak dish looks beautiful! Have a great weekend… Cheers~

  2. Love the cartoon!! Pure Cardio – isn’t that the one that Shaun T even says he’s a little scared about what’s fixing to happen?! You are killing the Insanity workouts!!

  3. Gotta love Tony! One of these days I’m going to make your salisbury steak–it’s a recipe on my bucket list and yours looks so dang good. Good job on the Insanity!

  4. Ohhhh salisbury steak; another meal I love but never make because MAK won’t touch. I swear, he needs to take a month’s vacation so I can cook for myself… 🙂

  5. Ok that love is cartoon pretty much sums it up. Awesome.
    Seriously – you and the breakfasts. I would DIE for a stack of those pancakes right now…!!

  6. Ah Tony, he cracks me up 🙂 Good job on keeping up with your workouts!

  7. I will be making those lemon poppyseed muffins…poppyseed anything is one of my favorites! And I love your salisbury steak.

Leave a comment