Feta-Stuffed Chicken Burgers

A HUGE thank you to everyone who suggested burger recipes – but MaggieApril’s really caught my eye!  I ended up putting it in my MasterCook to save for future use and to double check the points.  Each burger, without bun, comes in at:

  • 204 calories
  • 12 fat
  • 1.75
  • .5 fiber
  • 21.5 protein

Here’s the recipe:

Feta-Stuffed Chicken Burgers
From the Weight Watchers website, 5 points

  • 1 pound(s) uncooked ground chicken breast
  • 1 tbsp fresh oregano (I used Italian seasoning)
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder (I used garlic salt)
  • 7 tbsp feta cheese, crumbled (I used reduced fat feta)
  • 4 item(s) reduced-calorie hamburger roll(s) (mine come in at 80 calories each, with 5 grams of fiber!)
  •  1 cup(s) lettuce, romaine, cut into thick strips
  •  2/3 cup(s) roasted red peppers, sliced (without oil) (mine had oil, but I soaked most of it up)
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • cracked pepper to taste
  • 5 small olive(s), black, sliced (about 4 tsp)  (I don’t like olives, so I left this off)
  1. Preheat grill or broiler.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine chicken, oregano, garlic powder and feta; divide mixture into four balls and then press them gently into patties.
  3. Grill or broil patties until internal temperature of burgers reaches 165°F, about 7 to 8 minutes per side.
  4. Serve each burger on a bun with 1/4 of lettuce, 1/4 of peppers and 1 teaspoon of olives. Yields 1 burger per serving.
I just needed to pick up the ground chicken, red peppers and feta cheese

I just needed to pick up the ground chicken, red peppers and feta cheese

Here’s how it looks right before the patties were made:

p1120014-640x480

After the first flip:

p1120020-640x480

On my plate!

so good!  this made 4 patties, I only cooked one and put the rest in the freezer individually

so good! this made 4 patties, I only cooked one and put the rest in the freezer individually

With my one serving of potato coins, my dinner comes in at:

  • 454 calories
  • 22.5 fat
  • 38.5 carbs
  • 7.5 fiber (thanks to the bun!)
  • 27.5 protein

Thanks Maggie!

When I got home, I saw that I had a new magazine!  My godmother and great aunt gave it to me for Christmas.  It’s called Cook’s Country, and looks like another Cook’s Illustrated magazine – can’t wait to check it out!

p1120036-640x480

So I’ve already spent $40 on groceries tonight (besides my dinner ingredients I got American cheese, deli meat, two reusable bags (I am up to four!) a package of Kaiser rolls, smoked salmon, and a tomato).   With lunch from Panera at $13.00, I am up to $53 of my $100 weekly budget!  Hopefully I’ll make that goal though!

Although my last $100 challenge was close, although I neglected to add that I bought the fish separately, so that weeks total was really $111.00.  Still not bad though!

See you tomorrow – hopefully we won’t get too much snow tonight!

15 thoughts on “Feta-Stuffed Chicken Burgers

  1. I love Cooks Country!
    And I love your dinner.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    I hope I can save you some $..now you dont have to but the pre cleaned garlic!

  2. strongandhealthy

    Oh my goodness, that looks amazing! Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Those sound like the most incredible! burgers ever. I will definitely be saving that recipe. I have some ground turkey in the freezer that would probably be wonderful in this recipe. Plus, I LOVE feta.

    I’d say $111 is pretty darn good! I’d be impressed with myself if I managed to get that close to my total haha.

  4. I think it is blasphemous to refer to that as a burger. It is a chicken sadwich.

  5. were those tater tots?yum!

  6. Love your grocery challenge!
    And those burgers look amazing, and are jammed packed with protein!

  7. OMG amazing, i just bookmarked this recipe 😀 I love putting stuff in my turkey burgers, i heard cheese is good b/c they get moist and it’s like a cheeseburger pre-made!

  8. Thanks for the shout out, glad I could help. Weight Watchers and Cooking Light are my favorite resources for low-cal recipes that use real ingredients, not fat-free chemicals. I’ve been (slowly) adding my favorites to the recipes page at tastenotwaist.com. (Forgive the plug.)

    I have your Eating Well Chicken Divan recipe on the menu for tomorrow night. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

  9. Good luck on your budget!! I think you can do it, Biz 🙂

  10. I’ve never heard of chicken burgers! I don’t eat meat or poultry, but this would be great for all the burger lovers in my family.

  11. Those turkey burgers are going on my next week meal plan! They look SO GOOD!

  12. Feta in the burgers and roasted red peppers on top…mmm…

  13. these sound great 🙂

  14. […] and it got spicier and smokier overnight, serious burn going on, oh my!  For dinner I tried Biz’s Feta Stuffed Chicken Burgers but added back in the olives and added Tsatsiki and spinach instead of romaine.  They were […]

Leave a comment