Greek Chicken with Rosemary Red Potatoes

Before I get on to dinner, I decided to throw a quick whole wheat pizza together for me and Tony.  My side was a few pieces of pepperoni and red pepper, his was pepperoni and sautéed mushrooms.  We split a bottle of diet root beer – perfect lunch for two!  I am tweaking this whole wheat crust and I’ll post the recipe when I get it perfect! 😀

P8020016

 

After lunch Tony and I hit the store – I touch everything while he does deli duty – the deli takes the longest!  On the way home from the store, I yelled “I forgot to pick up the Greek Pork Kabobs!”  My store had the already put together, marinated and skewered pork and while I had it on my menu side, I forgot to add it to my ingredients to get.

So on to Plan B!  I did a quick google search and settled on this recipe.  I halved the amount of olive oil though!  See how many skewers are on this plate?  I made TWICE this much!  Seriously, I must have an underlying fear that people are going to show up at my door!  Never fear though, I plan on making Tony chicken salad for his lunches, so this won’t go to waste.

P8020023

On the side I made rosemary red potatoes – they cooked in foil on the grill while the chicken cooked, then I just dab the tiniest bit of butter before going to the table.  Hannah took this picture 😀

P8020026

I was on Tastespotting last week, and found this recipe from there – Goat cheese wrapped almonds and dates then wrapped in bacon.  The combination of flavors – salty, sweet and crispy and chewy, I knew I was going to make these for our picnic Girls Night Out tomorrow night.

All I did was take a pinch of goat cheese, wrapped it over the roasted salted almond, then sandwich it in between a sliced pitted date, then wrapped in bacon.  While a little tedious, it went together pretty quickly.

P8020019

Broil until bacon is crisp.  I realized after the first side cooked that I needed to elevate the apps so they weren’t bathing in the bacon grease, and then it worked perfectly – it took about 10 minutes total for the bacon to become really crisp.  You can see the goat cheese peeking out!  Hannah took this picture too – thanks Hannah – you may have to become my food stylist! 😀

P8020027

I’ve made so many messes in the kitchen today, but I need to make my blueberry lime muffins for tomorrow night – AND we have the Season Finale of Food Network Star – my vote is for Melissa!  See you in the morning – um, pretty sure I am going to have an egg sammie on my homemade jalapeno bagel tomorrow! 😀

13 thoughts on “Greek Chicken with Rosemary Red Potatoes

  1. I want Melissa too!!!

  2. I’m so glad Melissa won too!!

    Your food looks awesome! I’ve had bacon wrapped dates, just not with goat cheese and an almond, How deluxe is that. I hope the weather turns out for your girls night out!

  3. Pizza and root beer go so good together! Perfect Sunday lunch!

  4. i have got to make my own bagels already 🙂

    those goat cheese/almond/bacon things look amazing!

  5. I knew she would win! I think t hat she really does fill a need on Food Network.
    That chicken looks so delicious! I’ll take your leftovers!

  6. Wow, that is an amazing photo with the melting butter on the potatoes 🙂 and i’m loving those almond-goat cheese-stuffed dates wrapped in bacon… foodgasm 🙂

  7. You should host dinner parties! Love the little bacon-wrapped dates. Delish.

    Also your bagels and eggs in a cloud look divine!

  8. Those little bacon wraps look like they are to-die-for! I’ve GOT to make those ASAP!

  9. Seriously it all looks so good. I want to eat at your house!

  10. PS – I added you to my blogroll…hope that is okay 🙂

  11. Those potatoes look fantastic! I hope you enjoy your bagel this morning 🙂

  12. Bacon wrapped anything is good with me 🙂 I love bacon wrapped cheese stuffed dates. The perfect combination of all the flavours.

Leave a comment