Weigh-In Monday and Homemade Stone Ground Mustard

I loved reading all your comments about your inner athlete and that you got a kick going back down memory lane with me!  I bring you week three of really getting serious with losing this weight – while I have maintained my weight somewhat this past year, I need to maintain it at about 25 pounds less! 😀

PB160022

I LOST TWO POUNDS THIS WEEK! So I am down 5.4 in three weeks!  At this rate, hopefully my goal of hitting 155 on New Years will be a reality!

Ed decided to chase ducks on our morning walk.  It’s so funny, he has to be almost on top of them before he sees them!

PB160024

I enjoyed really fresh cantaloupe and the rest of the blackberries for breakfast, and I made an egg sammie on Aldi’s wrap – 9 grams of fiber in each wrap!

PB160028

PB160029

First order of business though??  Fill up my Bubba Keg!  This holds 34 ounces of water.  I had one before lunch and one in the afternoon, and then had 20 ounces with dinner – water intake goal complete!

PB160030

My blood sugar was around 140 before the walk, so I needed to have 15 carbs so I wouldn’t drop too low.

PB160033

Lunch was one cup of leftover veggie fried rice, a 100 calorie egg roll, 4 ounces of cucumber drizzled with 1 tbsp. Annie’s Asian Ginger Dressing, and a small apple.

PB160034

I loved the added crushed red pepper to the cukes!

PB160035

I did a pot roast in the crock pot today.  But instead of using the drippings from the crock pot (and avoid all that fat!) I always make lazy gravy.  Each 1/4 cup is only 20 calories!  Just add packet to 1 cup water, bring to a boil and you are done!

PB160038

While my plate had 6 ounces of pot roast, I only ate half, with one cup mashed potatoes and steamed carrots on the side

PB160042

HOMEMADE MUSTARD!!!!!!!!!

Okay, anyone who knows me personally knows I LOVE mustard.  All kinds of mustard.  I love it so much and Tony loves me so much that he even took me to the Mt. Horeb, Wisconsin Mustard Museum!!  Thanks again for that trip Tony! 😀

So I picked up a copy of Saveur Magazine, and they had a recipe for making a Spicy Guinness Mustard.  What??  I never ever thought to make my own mustard!!  Since I don’t like Guinness, here is my version, and also based on what I had on hand.

BIZ’S SAM ADAMS SUMMER ALE SPICY MUSTARD

  • 6 ounces Sam Adams Beer
  • 5 ounces mustard seed
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh ground pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. ground gloves
  • 1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. ground allspice

I put everything into a tupperware container with a lid.  Let sit for 1 – 2 days until mustard seeds are softened.  Mix and food processor and you are done!  Seriously, this took all of about 9 minutes of hands on time!

My mustard seeds fresh:

PB140007

After the two day soak:

PB160045

Dump in Food Processor”:

PB160046

This made about 1 1/2 cups of mustard!  It’s spicy, tangy – yum!  And turns out perfect for dipping pretzels into it!

PB160050

This will keep for up to six months in a jelly jar.  I can’t wait to make a sammie with it!

Stats for the Day:

  • 1380 calories
  • 48 fat
  • 176 carbs
  • 75 protein
  • 26 fiber 😀
  • 20 minute walk with Ed
  • 45 minute walk at lunch
  • 80 ounces of water – gone! 😀

Only four more days of work for me before I am off for NINE DAYS!  Hope everyone survived their Monday – see you tomorrow night!

 

29 thoughts on “Weigh-In Monday and Homemade Stone Ground Mustard

  1. Oh yum! I love dipping my pretzels in mustard!! I bet homemade mustard is even more fantastic!! 🙂

  2. OMG. You’re amazing…making your own mustard?!! WOW!

    AND YAAAAYYYY!!! CONGRATs on your weight loss! You are really dedicated and it’s paying off!!! 😀

  3. You go girl!!! I’m fairly new to your blog, but I’m very familiar with the challenges of weight loss. I wish you well on this endeavor, you’re doing a great job!

  4. I love mustard too so this is toooooo awesome!

  5. Whooo hooo! 150’s are in your sights!

    Homemade mustard? Who knew?!!! That sounds so good! You are so creative!

  6. that mustard looks fantastic!!!

  7. you’re so close! keep it up, i think it’s amazing that you’re doing this over the holidays. that’s always when i gaaaaaaaain. ugh.

    the mustard looks so good, adn what a cool idea!

  8. I LOVE spicy mustard! IN fact, I love mustard, period.
    Congrats on the 2 pound weight loss, that’s fantastic. I think you can make it to the 150’s , you are so motivated.

    Your lunch is very pretty. So creative!

  9. home made mustard!!! are you kidding, this is terrific!

    Congrats on the weight loss. It is so difficult. I do love the appealing way you make the food look. As important as low cal is, if it looks like crap, you will never stick with it..

    will you come cook for me till I drop 25 pds???

  10. That cantaloupe and blackberries looks so yummy going to have to buy some of that so I can enjoy that too. Congrats on the loss lately.

  11. You make your own mustard? Wow!

    Your food pics look great by the way 🙂 Congrats on the loss!

  12. I am all over that mustard – it looks fantastic! What a cool Christmas gift it would make, don’t you think?!?

    You are doing so great with your weight loss – congrats on losing another 2 pounds! There is no doubt you will reach your January goal at this rate!

  13. I’m pretty sure you will have to make a jar of that mustard for Christmas!

    Nice pictures. What else would you use mustard seeds for I wonder?

    Congrats on the weight loss, I’m catching up to you!

  14. that homemade mustard looks so unique and tasty! I LOVE your pictures they are so beautiful!

    thanks for the yummy tip wiht the go lean crunch and banana combo, it does sound insane! I will surley remember this when I get down to the very last bits!

  15. I love that you made this mustard yourself. That is incredibly creative!

  16. wow, I’d never thought of making my own mustard! it sounds great.

    congrats on the 2 lbs!!!

  17. Congrats on the weight loss!! That is so cool that you made your own mustard! Oh and that fried rice and eggroll looks delicious!

  18. wow fabulous weight loss, you will be at your NYE goal for sure!!!!

  19. awesome stats for today!!!

    I weigh-in tonight. I hope my weigh-in is half as good as yours. You did awesome! 🙂

  20. CONGRATS!!!!! WOOHOOOOO!!!! GO YOU!!!!

    I am on a cucumber dipped in a mixture of mustard/sriracha. YUM!

  21. I meant I am on a kick of having that, not that I am currently on a cucumber LOL!!

  22. Congrats…I am afraid to weigh in this Friday..lol..I have been cheating a little too much…friends house…beer…cookies….crackers..lol..

    I also have tried sushi for the first time but hiving trouble finding the calories for grocery store sushi…

    That mustard looks great.

  23. So cool that you made your own mustard. I love grainy mustards – I think I might just have to try something like this.

    How do you like the Annie’s dressing you used here?

  24. […] on the side today – dipped into 1 ounce fat free ranch dressing mixed with 1 tablespoon of my homemade mustard – nice and spicy!  The picture of that kind of looks like shit on a plate, so I didn’t […]

  25. The homemade mustard looks amazing!!! I’ll have to try that.

Leave a comment