I cried.

Finally, an American Idol contestant to watch!  They saved the best for last when Michael sang “This Woman’s Work.”  I know that song from one of my favorite movies – She’s Having a Baby with Kevin Bacon.  My favorite scene is when they rush Kevin’s wife to surgery, the nurse comes and gets him and says nothing.  He thinks they have lost the baby.  He walks into where is wife is recovering and she holds out her hand.  He grabs it, he starts to cry, and she says “I didn’t want anyone else to tell you.  Babe, it’s a Boy!”  Okay, so maybe I’ve seen the movie once or twice! 😀

But seriously, best performance of the year so far.  So my picks are Michael for the men, and Siobhan for the women  – let’s hope next week more people step up to the plate!

I had kind of a different breakfast yesterday – I bought frozen waffles!  I know “Biz bought processed food?”  but they were Van’s brand – 97% fat free whole grain – two were 140 calories and 5 grams of fiber.  I toasted those up, and then put an ounce of ham on each, sliced apple and an ounce of swiss cheese between the two.  I just love the sweet/savory combo!  Breakfast: 383 calories, 42 carbs, 25 protein, 11.1 fat and 6.5 fiber.

Has anyone made my Cincinnati Chili yet?  It is so simple and good!

Cincinnati Chili  adapted courtesy of CooksCountry!

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • salt to taste
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups tomato sauce
  • 2 tablespoons cidar vinegar (love this!)
  • 1 teaspoons dark brown sugar
  • 1.5 pounds 85% lean ground beef
  1. Heat heavy pot over medium-high heat.  Add garlic, tomato paste, chili powder, oregano, cinnamon, 1 teaspoon salt, pepper and allspice and cook until fragrant – about a minute.  Stir in chicken broth, tomato sauce, vinegar and sugar.
  2. Add beef and stir to break it up.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until until chili is deep brown and slightly thickened, about 20 minutes.  Season with salt if necessary.  Keep refrigerated for three days or frozen for up to 2 months).

Tony loves it because there are no beans!  But for my lunch, I added 1/2 cup black beans, 3 ounces of diced cooked potato and cilantro and topped it off with 75% reduced fat Cabot cheddar cheese.  Lunch: 453 calories, 43 carbs, 40 protein, 12 fat and 7.3 fiber.

I know I should eat unsalted nuts, but I love salted, roasted almonds!  I had .75 ounce as an afternoon snack:  81 calories, 3 carbs, 3 protein, 6.9 fat and 1.7 fiber.

I have a big picture window behind my desk and as I was filing I could see blue skies and the sun shining.  I could not wait to get home and sit outside with Tony!  As soon as I pulled in, our dog came running to me – Tony was enjoying a cigar on our side deck.  It was 60 degrees when I left my office!

I decided to grill pork chops with a blue cheese sauce with grilled broccoli and leftover mashed potatoes from our scallops saltimbocca.

The pictures I took of the grill were too dark – cannot wait for daylight savings this weekend!

I love grilled broccoli – such a smokey flavor!

My plate:  564 calories, 39 carbs, 43 protein, 27 fat, 7.6 fiber.

Stats for Wednesday:  Level 3 Jillian’s 30 day shred, 20 minute run on treadmill, 5 minute cool down.  1480 calories, 127 carbs, 111 protein, 57 fat and 23 fiber.

Okay, last night I tried to make a Mexican Posole soup and it sucked ass.  Does anyone have a posole recipe for me?

Just about to put another breakfast pizza in the oven – this one is going to have Canadian bacon! 😀

Have a great day!


26 thoughts on “I cried.

  1. I don’t know about where you live but around here McDonald’s has started advertising their Waffle Breakfast Sandwich… did you see an ad for that and get a subliminal message? Your’s looks better and probably is better nutrition wise too!

  2. Love Van’s Waffles! Check out my post today – I need advice! 🙂

  3. Paula from paulawanncracker posted a recipe for Posole not too long ago: http://paulawannacracker.blogspot.com/2010/03/posole.html. Sounds like great comfort food!

  4. I rarely watch AI. With your blogging about it I won’t have to either 🙂

    And “no bean” chili what’s this world coming too?! 🙂

  5. hahah it’s funny how some men just dont like beans (HOW?!?!?!) My boyfriend hates ’em too, although recently i’ve gotten him hooked on Pita Inn hummus. 😛 That stuff is addictive!!! Is the no-bean thing a Cinncinatti thing?? I might not be able to survive there!!! hahaha

  6. For the record, most Texas chilis don’t have beans either. When I moved out here to Vegas, it was startling to me how much everyone loved beans! I hate em…texture thing.

    I didn’t get to watch AI last nite, but now I can’t wait! It has been so dismal this season so far. Sigh, I miss Adam Lambert 😦

  7. You are so cute with your sensitive side. 🙂 I haven’t watched AI since my sweetie Jason Castro was on it. I think I gave it up for TBL and a ton of other shows – those three nights of AI are hard to keep up with!

  8. I LOVED when he sang that! He was so good! I remember that song from the Kevin Bacon movie, too. I still get chills when I hear it and think of that scene!

  9. Hmm, maybe I need to watch some American Idol. Glad you enjoyed it. I don’t think I have ever seen that movie.

  10. You are so great with your breakfast pizzas – yum!

    The chili looks great – i’ll have to pass it on to my friend Stacy asap – she loves chili but her fiance hates beans!

    Your grilled goodies look amazing…. must. get. grill.

  11. Yes, Michael is an amazing singer and so is Siobhan and there are quite a few distinctive voices this year but my pick is for Lee Dewyze (can’t even spell it right now)…I think he has the most potential and is a true rock star type which is what I believe the show should be putting out. I am still so disappointed about Adam losing last year, Kris just doesn’t have the “it” factor.

  12. Love the sweet/salty combo! This made me hungry!

  13. I loved Michael too, but on the girls side I like Crystal Bowersox the best!

  14. Yum those grill marks look awesome!!! How excited are you getting that there’s blue skies and we can see GRASS?! Ahh I cannot wait to start riding my bike, I’m beyond excited!!!

  15. That sammie looks soooo good!

  16. i thought michaels performance was awesome too! and love siobhan for the girls! we, great minds think alike 🙂 that breakfast—sweet and savory 🙂 mmm so good!!

  17. I agree with you, they keep saying how much talent they have this year, but I have not seen much of it. Hopeing they all step up thier game soon!

  18. You all have had a brutal winter, so I can’t be too bitter about it being warmer there than it is here right now. (At least in the morning…my husband said it was 10 degrees warmer in Michigan–where his family lives–than it was here in California!)

    Note to self: Must make some of Biz’s chili. STAT! It looks wonderful.

  19. Oh your sweet and savory waffle sandwich looks so good!! Great idea. I’ve been wanting to try out those Van’s waffles.

  20. Lo on the carbs today…or maybe I just haven’t looked specifically at the %’s before…hm!

    I didn’t catch up with Idol on my DVR yet this week but I love Siobhan, too!

    🙂

  21. Mmm I love the idea of putting blue cheese sauce on the grilled pork chops! So impressed as usual!
    And I agree with your American Idol picks- love them!

  22. I love your breakfast! It looks so tasty!

  23. […] and GravyAndrea (Off Her Cork) on More Indian Food!Anne Marie@New Weigh of Life on I cried.fattiefatterton on An Independent Woman – Happy 18th Birthday Hannah!Can You Stay for […]

  24. I LOVE broccoli, I have never had grilled broccoli though. It sounds good!

Leave a comment