Eggs in a Bread Bowl – I mean Roll!

Yesterday when I was running at lunch I went down earlier than I normally do so Paula Dean was on.  Of course you know what that means!  Butter, heavy cream and sugar!  She made the most amazing lobster, shrimp creole bisque that looked amazing – but what looked more amazing was the bread bowl she made.  She just took out the insides of her bowl, swiped the rim with a bit of olive oil and baked it for 10 minutes to make it strong enough to hold the bisque.  Yum!

Then after that Giada was on and she was making an egg mixture in Italian bread that you baked and I thought, what if I made eggs and spinach in a small whole wheat roll?

  • 1 3 ounce roll – remove the insides but save and mix in with the egg beaters
  • 1/4 cup egg beaters
  • handful of spinach
  • salt and pepper
  • .6 ounce muenster cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. olive oil

Cut the top off the roll.  Remove insides and reserve.  Brush roll with 1/2 tsp. olive oil.  Bake at 350 for 5 minutes. Put spinach in bottom of roll.  Mix together egg beaters, remaining bread and salt and pepper.  Pour into roll.  Bake at 350 for 20 – 25 minutes, or until eggs have cooked.  Add cheese on top and broil until cheese is browned.

One for me and one for my friend Renee at work

One for me and one for my friend Renee at work

Hollowed out

Hollowed out

right before going back in the oven to bake

right before going back in the oven to bake

on my plate! Breakfast comes in at 335 calories, 10 fat and 40 carbs

on my plate! Breakfast comes in at 335 calories, 10 fat and 40 carbs

This is a keeper!  Crunchy on the outside, the eggs are almost quiche like on the inside – and of course cheese makes everything great, right?

I am off to get ready for work.  Come back for lunch for Mexican Soup I made with last nights chicken leftovers!  A huge 2 cup serving is only 310 calories!  See you then!

21 thoughts on “Eggs in a Bread Bowl – I mean Roll!

  1. oh man, that looks SO good!

  2. What a super creative breakfast!

  3. Thats an awesome breakfast idea!

  4. Wow, what a great idea! These look GREAT! 🙂

  5. It is like birds in a nest but way easier to eat. That looks yum. Great find!

  6. Such a good idea, looks fantastic!

  7. I am Biz’s friend Renee and all I can say is YUM! It not only looks yummy, it tastes even yummier than you can imagine. Thanks, Biz for all of your inspiring ideas and thank you for letting me sample them.

  8. That looks fantastic! I will be getting some rolls tonight – I have everything else on hand. Breakfast tomorrow, here I come!

  9. Oh my yum! That looks so good, and what a great idea!!

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who watches the Food Channel while working out in the gym. 🙂

  10. Oh wow, sooo goood!!!

  11. dear god that looks AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am positively salivating!!!!!!!

  12. Oh my gosh I love it. The best part to me is that it’s FUN! Breakfast should definitely be fun.

  13. Looks good B!

    I’m going to have to try that too!!

  14. Your egg/spinach breakfast looks WAY better than mine! Yum!

    http://www.redheadedjournal.wordpress.com

  15. You have some of the best ideas ever. I’m going to give this a try the next time I’ve got rolls kicking around the kitchen!

  16. holy crap. amazing. LOVE this 🙂

  17. yummy breakfast! 😀

  18. I know I’ve said this a lot on your blog before but THAT looks amazing! Can’t go wrong with Giada 😉

    “and of course cheese makes everything great, right?” Truer words have never been spoken!

  19. that’s such a cool dish!

Leave a comment