Overnight Oats and BSI Win!

When I was recently cleaning out my pantry, I found that I had steel cut oats that had never even been opened!  I did a quick google search, which led me to The Bitten Word’s post about overnight oats.  Perfect!  The only thing I did differently was to add 4 tablespoons of tapioca to the pot – I thought it would give the oats a chewier texture and I was right – so good!

love the texture of steel cut oats

this reminded me that I have to make Hannah tapioca pudding - one of her favorite desserts

I just added the tapiaco at the very end - the overnight soak really made it plump up

I was a bit skeptical because there seemed to be a lot of water, but it all got soaked up by the morning

I added 1 tablespoon of agave nectar and 1 ounce of oats - yum! 😀

Thanks to Travel Eat Love’s husband for picking my BSI entry – Spicy Coconut Thai Soup!   I had it for lunch yesterday and I love how the broth got a bit spicier with the overnight soak of the jalapenos.  I had two mini egg rolls on the side.

So I was talking yesterday about how I was in a food coma from the Superbowl, and wouldn’t you know one of my co-workers brought in her leftover Superbowl food! I was doing fine, until I saw the Buffalo Chicken Dip.  Holy cow, this is like crack to me!   If my friend Allison were there, she would have been all over this too!  This put me over the top calorie wise – I had about 1/3 of a cup with an ounce of tortilla chips – definitely not on my meal plan yesterday!

while it looks like ass, I assure you this is heaven on a plate!

I had thawed pork chops for dinner and was looking for inspiration.  I went to Tastespotting and searched for pork chops.  The first recipe caught my eye in an instant!  Elly Says Opa! made her version of a recipe she saw on Kevin’s site – Pork Chops with Mushrooms, Dill and Sour Cream.   It was delicious!  I have to say my sauce turned out to look more like Kevin’s for some reason – maybe the lighting?

lucky I have a stocked pantry with all the ingredients I needed 😀

And at the very end, I added the sour cream.

Even though there was paprika in the sauce, Tony said it reminded him of beef stroganoff – I believe a staple recipe his Mom made growing up.

My plate: 1 cup egg noodles, 4 oz. pork chop, 1 cup baby spinach and sauce

Hannah had to work last night so she was hangry when she got home!   I heated up some egg noodles with a touch of butter, garlic, Parmesan cheese and crumbled bacon – she loved it!

please ignore the cluttered spice rack behind Hannah's head!

So with the damn buffalo chicken dip – stats for Monday:

B+ isn't bad!

Check out this week’s BSI host – Lemon Zest! 😀

Gotta scoot and scrape the snow off my car – we got a couple inches overnight, with a storm warning that is supposed to drop a total of 12 inches by tomorrow morning – where the hell are you spring?!

33 thoughts on “Overnight Oats and BSI Win!

  1. I wish spring would hurry up and get here too!

  2. while it looks like ass, I assure you this is heaven on a plate!
    I AM STILL LAUGHING AT THAT!!!!!!

  3. I love buffalo dip- yummmy!

    For some reason, I am anxiously awaiting spring too! Weird since I am also wanting to go skiing!

  4. OK, I have a dumb question, where do you buy tapioca. Is it refrigerated? Is it on a shelf? What kind of package does it come in?

    • It’s on the shelf – probably in the baking aisle – it’s Bob Mill Brand. Mine were small pearls – and not instant, so they need to soak overnight or cook for a while on the stove.

  5. Tapioco in your steel cut oats? That sounds incredible. I am loving the idea!

  6. congrats on the win! You have such great ideas for the BSI 🙂

  7. Ugh….I know – I never want to see my shovel again. 🙂

    I had no idea that’s what steel cut oats look like! And I LOVE tapioca pudding. That is a great idea to add them to oats!!

  8. Great idea with the steel cut oats. I love tapioca. And I have some steel cut oats that have been in my pantry forever, because I don’t know what to do with them.

  9. Love that picture of Hannah – I feel that hungry too, sometimes!

  10. I am loving this recipe… Great challenge and very well performed!

  11. OMG that dish looks so good…I would look just like your daughter.

    Did you try the Tofu Quesadilla????

  12. DiningAndDishing

    tapioca in o-nite oats is SUCH a good idea! i loooove a good chewy texture and this could really do the trick!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  13. Now that is some good looking oatmeal!

  14. Mmmmmmmmm Buffalo dip…not the prettiest dish on the table but soooo good. I’d have fallen for it, too. 🙂

    I always do my steel cut oats in the crock pot overnight. Dump in 1 cup oats to 4 cups water & turn it on low. Loses a little bit of the ‘chew’ but having it hot & ready when we wake up pretty much makes it worth it for me. lol

    Have a great week!
    Lynn

  15. I’ve never had tapioca but what a fun overnight oat rendition! Congrats on your win!! I’m loving that lunch – spicy = YUM!!

  16. I’ve always wanted to try steel cut oats, but they always seemed to take too long. what a fabulous idea with the overnight oats!

    One of my coworkers makes the chicken dip, and it is like crack. I can’t stay away from it either!

  17. Hey Buffalo Dip and all you still got an overall B+ for the day which is OK. Every time I read your blog I think it’s a miracle that you manage to stay in calorie range with all that good food around!

  18. I had been put off from buy the steel cut oats because of the cooking time. Now I will do this.

    I wonder if this method would work for brown rice too? You know, set it up in the morning before work and have the rice ready to go for dinner time?

    • You know what, I have no idea about brown rice like that. I have a $7 rice maker I got at Walgreen’s – it cooks every grain to perfection – just turn it on and it turns itself off when its done!

      I’ve done quinoa in it too!

  19. You know I would have been all over it! Except – yours looks WAY prettier than mine every does! The first (and only time) I made it myself, it turned out WAY TOO dry, but with my aunts or MIL make it – it looks like yours! What do you think I”m not putting enough of in?

  20. I seriously cannot be trusted around buffalo chicken dip. I would have eaten the entire thing!

    Love that picture of Hannah! I would have loved that pasta too!

  21. I like the tapioca in your overnight oats, yummy!

  22. I have never tried steel cut oats, they scare me. What is the texture like?

  23. I have steel cut oats for breakfast every day, but have never thought to add tapioca.. what a cool idea! Mind you, not sure they would fit in there too with the ridiculous amount of fruit and yoghurt I add 😉

  24. YUM! That soup looks awesome – as do both recipes with the egg noodles. YUM!

    I’ve had buffalo chicken dip push my stats up before – grrr!

  25. oh my gosh, i ate my body weight worth of buffalo chicken dip over the weekend too. that stuff has crack in it!

  26. I’m glad I’m not the only one who puts Buffalo Chicken Dip on the “crack cocaine” level of addictiveness!!!! : )

  27. my spice rack is RIDICULOUSLY cluttered.

  28. I do steel cut oats in a rice cooker with a timer and modes for different types of rice and porridge (steel cut oats or rice porridge).

Leave a comment