Winner, winner, lobster dinner . . .and a challenge!

The winner of my magazine addiction is:

True Random Number Generator 33

So that means:

I want to borrow your magazines! And have your cucumber salad!! And make that breakfast strata – fabulous!

Congratulations Kelly!  Send me your mailing address at: bdl319@gmail.com! 😀

My office has been so hot on our side – it was finally okay yesterday, but in an effort to keep the building cooler, all the shades were pulled – what a difference that made!  What it didn’t make was very bright pictures – oh well!

I found these new low carb wraps and I absolutely love them – only 81 calories each with 5 grams of fiber! 😀

So I made wraps for both breakfast AND lunch!  Breakfast wrap was 1 cup of baby spinach, 1/4 cup black beans, 1 slice colby jack cheese, 1/2 cup egg whites and pickled japanenos, spiked with Tabasco at my desk!  And 10 of the best cherries I’ve ever had!  Sorry Shelley, are you jealous??!!  Believe it or not, this whole plate comes in at 279 calories, 25 carbs, 24 ptoein, 9.8 fat and 8.1 fiber. And it kept me full for hours!

My friend and I did our walk, in much better walking conditions!  But when I got back I was hungry!  My grocery store sells marinated chicken breasts for like $2.50 a package – when I grilled our chops the other night, I tossed one on for my lunch yesterday.  I made a Greek wrap – its basically a cup of salad mix, extra chopped carrots, 1/4 of a chopped pear (which I loved!), 1 tablespoon of Annie’s goddess dressing and 1/2 ounce crumbled goat cheese.  With baked sour cream and cheddar chips! 😀  Lunch comes in at: 431 calories, 44 carbs, 38 protein, 13.1 fat and 11.2 fiber.

Dinner was quacahummus burgers with skinny nachos on the side.  I used reduced fat cheese, 1 oz. of tortilla chips, black beans and shredded lettuce.  Our burgers ended up being 4 ounces cooked, and I put my burger on a plain bagel thin.  I have to thank Marisa for introducing me to Trader Joe’s guacahummus – only 50 calories per serving! 😀  dinner comes in at: 605 calories, 55 carbs, 47 protein, 22 fat and 3.4 fiber.

I did snack on exactly one ounce of almonds yesterday – no seconds – victory!

Stats for Tuesday:

  • 1,476 calories, 134 carbs, 116 protein, 48 fat and 26 fiber
  • 45 minute walk

So what challenge am I talking about?  The summer is commonly known as the 101 days of summer, which basically is Memorial Day to Labor Day.  I plan on really challenging myself in the exercise department.  Luckily a new state of the art gym was built close to my office – and because of the proximity, I am considered a “corporate” member and get the resident discount!  For a three month trial, it will cost $115.  If I like it, it would only be $31 a month after that.

Check it out here.  It couldn’t come at a better time because my tiny office gym membership was up for renewal, and since Joe and Hannah and I haven’t used Cardinal Fitness for a while, I will drop that.  One of the most successful tools I had when I lost my weight was exercise classes.  I am a competitive person by nature, and when I see someone going full speed, I have to do my best to match it!

So here’s the deal – who’s with me? My plan is to have each participant come up with their own goal – whether you break it down weekly, monthly, or just a total at the end.  Every Saturday I would ask that you send me an email at bdl319@gmail.com and let me know if you were successful or not.  I’ll post a recap on Sundays with everyone’s successes!   This does mean that my regular posts will probably dwindle to just Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  I do plan on having a “101 Day” page that will have my own individual progress.

Here’s the big deal though . . . I plan on taking a “before” picture for all the world to see, stretch marks and all!  If I am willing to do that, you can at least join in the fun!  What do you think?  Any suggestions?

Oh, one last thing:  HANNAH’S LAST DAY OF HIGH SCHOOL IS TODAY!  They have graduation rehearsal and then the senior breakfast at a banquet hall in the next town over.  Four days til graduation! 😀

I am so proud of you Hannah! Love, Mom

Shower time – see ya! 😀

47 thoughts on “Winner, winner, lobster dinner . . .and a challenge!

  1. CONGRATS to Kelly!! I know how much she loves to read and how much she loves food so she is the perfect person to win this prize!! 🙂

    Congrats Hannah on finishing high school. So much fun and excitement is in store!!!!!! 🙂

  2. Congrats to Hannah! I’m sure it is bittersweet…
    This is totally off subject – but I plan on doing a trial run of your baja salsa…how much does it make?

    • Each recipe makes about 1 1/2 cups of salsa – but I usually make a ton though and then just mix it all together and make final taste adjustments, i.e. maybe more salt or an extra squeeze of lime 😀 Let me know how it goes!

  3. Congrats to Hannah!! You must be a proud momma today. 😀

    Those wraps and that burger look mouthwatering! Love the jalapenos 😈 !!

    Jenn

  4. OK Biz, I’m in. Lord knows I need to keep challenging myself in one way or another. I have some questions but I’ll email you.

    BIG UPS TO HANNAH! How exciting to be moving on to the next part of her life.

  5. Yippee for Hannah!!!!! I’ll see if I can come up with a routine that I can keep up with! At any rate, it’s a great idea!

  6. I think I’m in – if I can think of the perfect challenge for myself!

  7. YAY!! I just wanted to BORROW, I KNEW I wouldn’t WIN! I’m so excited and know that I will make tons of them – yay!!

    I’ll e mail you now. 🙂 And many congrats to Hannah!

  8. mmm guacahummus! 🙂 Eats look tasty…I am deciding on breakfast now… maybe a burrito! 🙂

  9. Wow graduation, very cool.
    Those wraps have some nice stats

  10. Congrats, Hannah! Big life adventures are coming your way! 🙂

  11. I’m totally in! I need something to push me. At the beginning of the year I figured I’d be close to my goals by now. And yet after getting about 1/3 of the way there today I’m pretty much back where I started. :\

  12. Congratulations to Hannah!

    I’m having some issues with keeping my workout “fresh” so I’m going to look for some new plans/activities.

  13. I”m totally in! I SOOOOOO need some motivation and accountability! Even if I don’t know you, it would so help for me to “have to” email you with my results or failures. I’ll email you.

  14. fitandfortysomething

    love your lunch wrap and what you put inside it-YUM! also what a great challenge-i may have to participate!

  15. I think I wanna be IN, but I’m a little worried about the pic you’re requesting…

    Shorts and a tank top are cool, right? 🙂

    • OMG, you don’t have to take a picture of yourself!! I was just going to “bare” all and take a picture of MYSELF before and after. You are too funny! 😀

  16. That burger with guacahummus sounds excellent! Congrats to Hannah on her graduation, how exciting!

  17. I’m totally in the challenge too!

    Yeah Hannah!! So proud of you babe!! You are so awesome and I am so happy you are my niece!

  18. I love your challenge idea and I’ve already got a head start! This is Veronica from Recipe Rhapsody, but you’ll notice I put a different blog in the website slot b/c I just started it last week to motivate myself to keep on keepin on with my weight-loss efforts this time and not give up like I’ve done so often in the past. And I’ve already got a super-scary before picture posted! I’m all over your challenge. I’m just starting to get comfortable with eating better but would like to increase my physical activity. I really hate any exertion so this will be hard and I really want to do it so this gives me the extra push I needed. I’m glad you are willing to bare all–I think that is brave and also a good starting place. BTW, your Hannah is such a pretty girl! And one last thing–where in the world do you work? I’ve been wanting to ask for a while but always forget. It’s so amazing that you have a kitchen at the office, can take lunches long enough to get excercise in and there’s even a shower there for your use! That is so cool!

    • Great! I’ll check that out – I just went to my blog roll . . . which by the way I printed out your recipe for crockpot refried beans – cannot wait to make them! 😀

    • I work at a law firm – we host events, so it made sense to have a full kitchen – I am a lucky duck! The building has a fitness center – albiet small – but it only costs $100 for the year! 😀

  19. I love those tortillas! And congrats to Hannah. Love the new layout- looks just beautiful. The new gym looks awesome- they have group power (which is a lot like Body Pump!) Can’t wait to read more about your challenge.

  20. Awesome Biz! Can’t wait to start the challenge. I’ve got my game face on!

  21. I bought cherries today and was so excited to come home and have a snack…but they really weren’t very good. :(:(:( So I’m still jealous!

    I’m up for the challenge if I can think of something – right now I’m so far behind that my brain isn’t functioning very well.

    Your new gym looks great! I am with you on the classes – I love working out with other people!

    Awww, the last day of school picture. Time flies, right?

  22. Hi Biz,

    I’m in. Totally. I love none weight loss challenges – as in I don’t have to lose a certain amount of weight in a certain amount of time. I’m in and will also post before pics, shudder.

    I made your breakfast strata for dinner last night and it was great! Instead of 4 oz of chilis, I used Ro-tel tomatoes and chilis. Very good. I put a picture on my post today, but it was a morning after picture after the remains spent the night in the fridge! You are the blogger whose food I use the most often!

    Will there be a badge for your challenge?

  23. Guacahummus? Oooh, I want me some of that. I’m sure it would be easy enough to make yourself…

    Good luck on your summer challenge – a fancy new gym would probably be great motivation. And I know what you mean about the whole competitive nature, as I’m the same.

  24. hannah is SO GORGEOUS! what a beautiful smile!!!! ❤

    mm i need some jalapenos soon 🙂

  25. Congrats to Hannah!!!! Such a fun time!!!

    The challenge – I LOVE the 101 days idea, now to think of what I can do to push myself 🙂

  26. love the new look biz! (i know i’m late on the uptake but it’s been busy) CONGRATS to hannah 🙂 a proud moment, i’m sure! i’m wishing i had some wraps right now… i don’t have any bread in the house and i’m holding off since i’m leaving for italy in a week… maybe i should just make a small loaf 🙂

  27. Congrats to Hannah!! How proud you must be!

    Your wraps look amazing! I need to recreate your breakfast wrap soon! YUM!

  28. What are guacahummus? I never hear of them. Also are low carb tortillas good? Any recommendations?
    Thanks for your support and kind words on my blog.

  29. Congrats to Hannah! I’m always looking for new wraps-I’ll have to check them out!

  30. It’s so great a new gym is opening. The one I go is quite new, and I love the fresh, clean atmosphere inside. All the equipment is new, it’s an nice place to be.

  31. I’m aready running,biking,golfing and now swimming. What more could I do?

  32. What a great idea!! I am in…I just need to think of something 🙂

    Hannah is beautiful! Congrats on her graduating!!

  33. thehealthyjunky

    Congrats to your daughter! She has to be soo excited! My sister is graduating tomorrow from high school and is thrilled to enter into college! Once again your eats looks amazing!

  34. Hi Biz. I’m also a diabetic, non-insulin dependent so far, and I LOVE your blog! Congratulations to Hannah and I look forward to reading about your 101 challenge. 🙂

  35. […] of Summer Challenge on her blog which will go from Memorial Day to Labor Day. You can read about it here and here.  Those were two posts she had about it and I believe she will have another to start the […]

  36. so how do i get in on this challange, where do i sign up and start with you all, i started today on my diet weighed in at 213.8 i started a blog to track myself, so how do i sign up for your challage how fun is this going to be..

    thanks
    connie

    • Hey Connie! Send me an email at bdl319@gmail.com – let me know what your summer goals are and I’ll update the participant list – basically I am going to do a weekly round up to see how everyone is doing – hopefully this will light a fire under my ass to start moving!!

  37. Hi Beth! I found out about your challenge because I follow Angie’s blog. Memorial day has gone, is it possible to join the 101 day challenge?

    I’m actually from Finland, Northern Europe, but I suppose that is not an obstacle?

  38. […] Posted on June 2, 2010 by biz319 All I can say is WOW! We are not up to 38 people for our 101 Days of Summer Challenge – yahoo!  I hope together we can virtually keep each other motivated when the weather is nice, […]

  39. Hey, thanks for your comment on my blog! I’d love to join your 101 days challenge! My goal is to reach my WW 10% goal and to participate in 5K as a walker. Can’t wait to check out the other participants!

  40. […] have now met one of my 101 Days of Summer Challenge goals…more than a month early! I guess I better come up with a new one. Those side planks are […]

Leave a comment