Thank you!

Wow, thanks for all the birthday wishes yesterday!  Every time I heard my blackberry ding with another comment, it made me smile. 😀

Hannah had school yesterday, but she got up early and made me breakfast.  She said she went to four different stores the day before to try to find me a jalapeno cheese bagel, but couldn’t find one.  She settled on making me an asiago cheese egg sammie – it was delicious!

Hannah got me the Complete America’s Test Kitchen Cookbook – it has every recipe from 2001 through 2012!  Can’t wait to look through that – thanks Hanners!

My bosses were supposed to take me out to lunch, but there was a conflict, so they are taking me out today.  So I had a Roast Beef subway sandwich, with buffalo sauce – Melissa I am so glad you told me about Subway having buffalo sauce!

While it was off and on rainy during the day, by the time I got home, it was gorgeous grilling weather.

I manned the grill while Tony made his famous fried rice.  I had cooked the rice the day before and chopped the veggies I wanted to be put in.  He thought there were too many. 😀  He ended up cooking the eggs separately then adding them in later – so fluffy and good – and every fourth bite you get a bit of crunchy rice when he lets it cook in the cast iron skillet – its so fricken good!

I ended up doing a marinated skirt steak.  I love flank steak, but it is so expensive!  But I rationalized it by thinking, we could never have this type of meal in a restaurant for $18!

Asian Marinated Flank Steak

  • 3 tablespoons hoisin sauce
  • 2 tablepsoons rice whine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons fresh chopped ginger
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper (would have added more if it was just for me) 😀
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic

Mix everything together and add the steak in a large ziploc bag.  Marinate up to 24 hours.

It was pretty thick, so I grilled it about 8 minutes per side for medium/medium rare.  My friend at work calls me Beef (instead of Beth).  In my office birthday card she wrote “Beef, it’s what’s for dinner!”  I think this picture sums that up!

I cooked Hannah skinny chicken with Greek seasoning.

Here’s Tony with his mad stir frying skills.

My delicious plate:

Some of the other birthday loot I got:  Trader Joe’s gift card, a bottle of Layer Cake Shiraz, my Mom, Hannah and Tony all gave me a variety of new cheese to try (how did they know I like cheese!) hot sauces, salt and pepper sweet potato chips (um, yes please!), spicy peanuts, fresh oranges, grapefruit and avocados from Florida from my PIL with two bottles of hot sauces and hot peppers, and cinnamon bun coffee.  Score!

I’ll leave you with the card that Hannah wrote me.  Love.

And thanks Tony for your cooking skills – I know you weren’t feeling that great and the fact that you went grocery shopping and cooked the fried rice shows me just how much you love me.  I couldn’t love you more. 😀

 

29 thoughts on “Thank you!

  1. It sounds like you had a great birthday 🙂 Your family is so close, and everyone is always thinking of the small things! Those are what matters most.. like trying to find the special jalapeno bagel and those salt and pepper sweet potato chips!
    Make it a great day, Beef 😉

  2. ah! The card from Hannah melts my heart. LOVE!!! Glad you had a nice day. The dinner is absolute perfection. You know I’m a fried rice fan…but I think I need some lessons from Tony. Hope lunch today is fabulous

  3. Awww, that card from Hannah is beautiful! She’s right. 🙂

  4. Goodness, Hannah’s card has me all verklempt! Glad you had such a fabulous day, you deserved every minute of it. Lucky you with the fresh avocados. Yum!

  5. Marcia @Frugal Healthy Simple

    Wow. I hope you had a GREAT birthday. Good birthday, great food, and buffalo sauce?? Man, I miss sandwiches.

  6. I’m so sorry I missed your birthday yesterday – happy belated birthday, Biz!! Aww that card melts my heart!

  7. LOVE Hannah’s card! How sweet 🙂

    When we have good steak at home I rationalize it the same way, and it’s always worth it in the end!

  8. Your Hannah is just as beautiful as you are, inside and out!

  9. Sounds like a wonderful birthday – love Hannah’s card! That steak looks incredible! 🙂

  10. That is the sweetest card!
    Dinner looks just delicious! Tony looks like he makes a mean stir fry!! YUM!

  11. Love the card, so sweet! Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday. The Asian marinated flank steak recipe sounds excellent and your pics look like it was 🙂

  12. So sweet of Hannah to get up early and make you breakfast! And that card, it make me teary!!
    I love fried rice, your birthday dinner looks yummy! Kudos to Tony for making you your favorite thing!
    Have an awesome lunch today! 🙂

  13. How the hell did I miss your birthday????????????!!! HAPPY BELATED, BIZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. So do we get a recipe for Tony’s rice? I’m actually making fried rice tonight and I’m sure it won’t compare!

  15. awww so sweet! Sounds like a great day! Your steak and rice looks am-azing!

  16. The picture of you and the steak is adorable! I love flank steak… and your dinner looks incredible. I could probably eat that every night 🙂

  17. What an AWESOME looking meal, I would love some of that steak. You certainly look happy with it 🙂

    I am glad you had a great day.

  18. Sounds like a wonderful birthday. Your family is so sweet. Glad you enjoyed it.
    Love ya! Skippy

  19. What a beautiful birthday for a beautiful lady. Hannah’s card was just so sweet–I bet you teared up! Love the photo of you with the platter of meat. 🙂

  20. Awww. love the note from Hannah!

  21. Hannah is so sweet!!
    That steak is calling my name 🙂
    Where I work just started selling a jalapeno asiago bagel that is to die for !!
    I’m so glad you had a great birthday.

  22. It’s not bagel Wednesday, but that brekkie looks yum!

    I love Hannah’s note.

  23. Oh my gosh, that card has me crying. So sweet and so true!!!

  24. melissalikestoeat

    Happy Belated Birthday! Looks like you had some awesome birthday eats! Thanks for the shout out! Isn’t buffalo sauce on the sandwich the best!?!

  25. I love flank steak, too. It is one of our favorite things to do on the grill in the summer. It is pricey, but you can just serve it with a simple salad, and then the meal isn’t too outrageous overall. Plus we usually have leftovers for sandwiches.

  26. It was not a good idea to read this post at work because Hannah’s card brought tears to my eyes. What a loving beautiful card.

    And I love, love, love your dinner: delicious!

    I’ve never been to Subway but know there are getting more and more restaurants here in Holland so looked it up just now and guess what: there is one close by so I will definitely try it out someday.

  27. I’m late, but Happy Birthday 🙂

  28. Happy late birthday! I have been off of the computer for a while. I hope your day was fabulous with many more to come.

  29. I know…I say this ALL the time…but I love the relationship you & Hannah have together – it warms my heart!

    Your dinner looks fantastic!

Leave a comment